• Most people probably don't realise this, but this forum has had two editors for a number of years. One is the xenForo default editor, and the other is a custom editor I made years back I called BBCEd.

    All the settings for which editor you use was lost during the upgrade. You can find the setting under Account Settings > Preferences > Editor.

Replace/Creating Backgrounds or tilesets

Old topic!
The last post in this thread is over 60 days old. Posting in this thread will be considered a bump, so please make an attempt to be courteous if you go ahead with it.

If the last post is over 6 months old, it may instead be a better idea to start a new topic. If you aren't sure about what to do, feel free to ask a staff member for help, or try to locate a 'general questions'-type thread if it exists in this (sub-)forum.
Sep 19, 2017 at 11:01 PM
Spur is the best gun because its super cool
"Big Joe Tire and Battery Restaurant! Opening Soon! Eat at Big Joes!"
Join Date: Jan 15, 2017
Location: Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 529
Age: 11
#1
This is a bigger question so I don't really think I should put it in the quick answers thread
If I was sorry please move it then with your fancy stuff

So I've seen in a lot of games people have a variety of backgrounds and new tilesets

Some common ones that I SEE areeee:
1.) Mountains tileset (with mountains background)
2.) Road/grass tileset (with city/mountains background, represents surface)
3.) Slightly dark themed grasstown or balcony (normal sky background)

Should I even add one of these??
I just thought putting one in would make it seem kind of cool, I really like those mountain backgrounds or the idea of going to the surface

So am I even able to replace or create backgrounds or tilesets?
If so, how?
I'm pretty sure I know how to replace, and I think someone told me how to change blocks (so certain tiles act differently)

But I'd be removing some, which I'd prefer not to do...
So is there any way to CREATE them?
I'm ok with doing stuff outside of the normal editor, and maybe downloading other things but I don't want to go to crazy, and start doing super crazy stuff just to add one of these things.
If backgrounds are easier to add then tilesets, please also tell. Mountains background would be awesome!


Or should I just put this in a whole new game if I ever make another? (Unless I can CREATE them, and not replace)

Thanks y'all who help
I always get confused on things outside of editors, I don't have super experience with files and stuff like that
 
Sep 19, 2017 at 11:31 PM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 6004
#2
You just have to make a new bmp and put it in the same folder as the others, and make sure the name starts with Bk or Prt for backgrounds and tilesets respectively. That's it.
 
Sep 19, 2017 at 11:35 PM
Spur is the best gun because its super cool
"Big Joe Tire and Battery Restaurant! Opening Soon! Eat at Big Joes!"
Join Date: Jan 15, 2017
Location: Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 529
Age: 11
#3
You just have to make a new bmp and put it in the same folder as the others, and make sure the name starts with Bk or Prt for backgrounds and tilesets respectively. That's it.
REALLY????
add ?x100000

In boosters lab will it show up in the options for the map data?
 
Sep 19, 2017 at 11:36 PM
Everything Else Is Irrelevant
Modding Community Discord Admin
"Bleep, Bloop, Bleep, Bloop"
Join Date: Apr 5, 2013
Location: In my mind and of my body.
Posts: 1595
Age: 22
#4
Creating new art for your mod can be quite difficult, It's not an easy thing to do, especially when you have to make either it all yourself or fix the coherent style of CS.

To do this, you have to look in the data folder and if you've opened up the .exe in Boostes lab then it should have converted all the images to .bmp and you are free to edit them how you like, just remember that tilesets are limited to 256X256 and backgrounds are limited to 320X420 (though you can make bk s larger via assembly as Clownacy did in his widescreen hack for the parallax background)

The only exception is that bullet.bmp can expand infinitely downwards. and caret.bmp can go infinitely sideways.

You can also make new bitmaps as long as they follow the rules above and don't have weird unicode characters you just have to edit the mapdata in the exe to accept them after you make them.

Also don't take other peoples mod stuff without asking, it's frowned upon around here and there's no harm in asking (though I would strongly recommend showing that you're a capable modder first, people are more likely to give you handouts if you show you are capable of producing decent content.)
 
Sep 19, 2017 at 11:41 PM
Spur is the best gun because its super cool
"Big Joe Tire and Battery Restaurant! Opening Soon! Eat at Big Joes!"
Join Date: Jan 15, 2017
Location: Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 529
Age: 11
#5
Creating new art for your mod can be quite difficult, It's not an easy thing to do, especially when you have to make either it all yourself or fix the coherent style of CS.

To do this, you have to look in the data folder and if you've opened up the .exe in Boostes lab then it should have converted all the images to .bmp and you are free to edit them how you like, just remember that tilesets are limited to 256X256 and backgrounds are limited to 320X420 (though you can make bk s larger via assembly as Clownacy did in his widescreen hack for the parallax background)

The only exception is that bullet.bmp can expand infinitely downwards. and caret.bmp can go infinitely sideways.

You can also make new bitmaps as long as they follow the rules above and don't have weird unicode characters you just have to edit the mapdata in the exe to accept them after you make them.

Also don't take other peoples mod stuff without asking, it's frowned upon around here and there's no harm in asking (though I would strongly recommend showing that you're a capable modder first, people are more likely to give you handouts if you show you are capable of producing decent content.)
Thank you! I'd probably make the tilesets and things like that 40000x40000 and wonder what was going wrong for a really long time...

I wasn't planning on taking other peoples mod stuff, I just liked their ideas of putting mountains and stuff (I'd draw my own)
Sorry if that sounded confusing when I said I liked what other people did


EDIT:
UMMM Tiny issue...
Whenever I Try making my own mountains background, I make it and the colors keep reverting to basic blue
This is a similar issue to what I had before with yellow going to gray... how do I fix this??


BY THE WAY EVERYTHING ELSE WORKS YAY!!! I was able to get the backgruond in (haven't tried the tilesets yet)

still I'm using the paint "app" in windows (comes with it) and it just seems to be changing the light yellow to gray and dark blue to normal blue

why is this? Basic colors like yellow stay the same
 
Last edited:
Sep 20, 2017 at 12:32 AM
2dbro
"Keep on rollin'!"
Join Date: Jan 10, 2014
Location: yes
Posts: 442
Age: 16
#6
Use something like Paint.net, that way BMPs will save with all colors automatically. Using paint and saving a BMP sets it to a 16-color BMP, which is something you don't really want.
 
Sep 20, 2017 at 12:35 AM
Spur is the best gun because its super cool
"Big Joe Tire and Battery Restaurant! Opening Soon! Eat at Big Joes!"
Join Date: Jan 15, 2017
Location: Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 529
Age: 11
#7
Use something like Paint.net, that way BMPs will save with all colors automatically. Using paint and saving a BMP sets it to a 16-color BMP, which is something you don't really want.
Oh thats probably why its only the basic colors


What is paint.net? I hear a lot of people say to use it, but it keeps directing me to a REAL paint website called warren paint or something like that
 
Sep 20, 2017 at 12:38 AM
Soup Man
"All your forum are belong to us!"
Join Date: Jul 15, 2014
Location: Soup
Posts: 617
Age: 3
#8
Sep 20, 2017 at 12:52 AM
Spur is the best gun because its super cool
"Big Joe Tire and Battery Restaurant! Opening Soon! Eat at Big Joes!"
Join Date: Jan 15, 2017
Location: Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 529
Age: 11
#10
Sep 20, 2017 at 12:53 AM
Soup Man
"All your forum are belong to us!"
Join Date: Jul 15, 2014
Location: Soup
Posts: 617
Age: 3
#11
For someone who's named after a famous Youtube pooper, you sure don't use the internet as much.

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=paint.net
His problem was that typing paint.net in the search/address bar redirected him to a different website. Anyways, I know a ton of people who are highly active online and have no idea what paint.net is.
 
Sep 20, 2017 at 2:38 AM
Spur is the best gun because its super cool
"Big Joe Tire and Battery Restaurant! Opening Soon! Eat at Big Joes!"
Join Date: Jan 15, 2017
Location: Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 529
Age: 11
#12
Sep 20, 2017 at 3:20 AM
Soup Man
"All your forum are belong to us!"
Join Date: Jul 15, 2014
Location: Soup
Posts: 617
Age: 3
#13
Sep 20, 2017 at 1:30 PM
Spur is the best gun because its super cool
"Big Joe Tire and Battery Restaurant! Opening Soon! Eat at Big Joes!"
Join Date: Jan 15, 2017
Location: Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 529
Age: 11
#14
Ok so I fixed the whole art thing

But now yet again ANOTHER issue
Now full screen is doing that thing again where it takes up the top left corner of my screen and everything else is gray!!!
It's like it keeps switching on and off randomly
 
Sep 20, 2017 at 2:23 PM
2dbro
"Keep on rollin'!"
Join Date: Jan 10, 2014
Location: yes
Posts: 442
Age: 16
#15
don't use fullscreen
 
Sep 20, 2017 at 3:57 PM
Administrator
Forum Administrator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jul 15, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 6166
Age: 34
#16
Follow the instructions here:
http://www.cavestory.org/troubleshooting.php

Quoted for your convenience:
In full screen mode the game only occupies the upper-left quadrant of the screen.

Right-click on Doukutsu.exe, select properties, click on the "Compatibility" tab, tick "Run in 640x480 resolution", and hit OK. Do not have this set if running the game in windowed mode.
 
Sep 20, 2017 at 6:26 PM
Junior Member
CSE Discord Admin
"It's dangerous to go alone!"
Join Date: Jun 13, 2017
Location:
Posts: 34
Age: 16
#17
Sep 20, 2017 at 7:20 PM
Okay I give up... for now
"What is a man!? A miserable pile of secrets! But enough talk, have at you!"
Join Date: Dec 31, 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1776
Age: 23
#18
Huh. Strangely, I don't have that problem. My resolution is automatically put to 640*480 when I run Cave Story in Fullscreen (with Windows 10, and I didn't tick "Run in 640*480 resolution"). Is it normal ?
Same for me. I don't completely know why, but on some systems this problem occurs, and on others it doesn't. I've played Cave Story on Windows 98, XP, Vista, 7, and 10, and never had this happen.
 
Sep 20, 2017 at 8:23 PM
Spur is the best gun because its super cool
"Big Joe Tire and Battery Restaurant! Opening Soon! Eat at Big Joes!"
Join Date: Jan 15, 2017
Location: Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 529
Age: 11
#19
Sep 21, 2017 at 1:47 AM
Administrator
Forum Administrator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jul 15, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 6166
Age: 34
#20
Try setting compatibility mode to windows 98 as well.

Huh. Strangely, I don't have that problem. My resolution is automatically put to 640*480 when I run Cave Story in Fullscreen (with Windows 10, and I didn't tick "Run in 640*480 resolution"). Is it normal ?
That is normal. Cave Story is meant to work that way.
 
Top