• Most people probably don't realise this, but this forum has had two editors for a number of years. One is the xenForo default editor, and the other is a custom editor I made years back I called BBCEd.

    All the settings for which editor you use was lost during the upgrade. You can find the setting under Account Settings > Preferences > Editor.

Quick Modding/Hacking Answers Thread

Dec 1, 2017 at 1:01 PM
Senior Member
"Master using it, and you can have this!"
Join Date: Jun 4, 2014
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 87
Age: 17
How to make a weapon shot another weapon's bullet? For example, the machine gun will shot polar star bullets
or bubbler that shots fireballs
 
Dec 1, 2017 at 3:45 PM
Everything Else Is Irrelevant
Modding Community Discord Admin
"Bleep, Bloop, Bleep, Bloop"
Join Date: Apr 5, 2013
Location: In my mind and of my body.
Posts: 1595
Age: 22
I would have sworn it was in the Haxinator but I checked myself just now and I guess not.

To make weapons change what's shot you're going to have to look at the gun code and find the bullet spawning function (CALL 403F80) and this is how to PUSH values onto it:

Code:
push dir
push y
push x
push bulletid
call 403f80
add esp,10
Each weapon offset is as follows (where you will find said PUSH)

Code:
Weapon1=41DBD0
Weapon2=41DE60
Weapon3=41E110
Weapon4=41E3D0
Weapon5=41E7B0
Weapon7A=41EFD0
Weapon7B=41F280
Weapon9=41F580
WeaponC=41F710
WeaponD=41FA10
If you don't know how to use olly then click on the discord link in my sig and I'm sure someone will be able to help you out; It's a fairly simple ASM hack but olly can be pretty scary for first timers. :toroko2:

E: also Weapon listings is the same order (I think anyway) as how <AM+ lists weapons but I'm not 100% certain on that one.
 
Dec 1, 2017 at 4:37 PM
Senior Member
"Master using it, and you can have this!"
Join Date: Jun 4, 2014
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 87
Age: 17
I'm not an expert at assembly hacking but know a bit about it and also OllyDebug. I just need some time to understand what is happening on the code. :mahin:
 
Dec 2, 2017 at 5:05 PM
The God of Development Heaven
Modding Community Discord Admin
"Deaths: 4000"
Join Date: Apr 23, 2013
Location: Development HEAVEN
Posts: 967
Age: 21
I would have sworn it was in the Haxinator but I checked myself just now and I guess not.
While I did make them, they were never added to an offical release of BL (because I never sent Nox the completed copies... Oops)
I'm not an expert at assembly hacking but know a bit about it and also OllyDebug. I just need some time to understand what is happening on the code. :mahin:
If you don't want to dive into assembly yet (and thats perfectly fine, you pretty much need a full week of practice to start working with it), I made some aforementioned haxinator files to speed up and simply the process of editing weapons.

Heres the folder of all my files, you want the "Weapons" and "Bullets" folders in particular. Grab your copy of Boosters Lab, go into the Hacks folder and delete the old Weapons folder, then place these two in. Then when you open your mod in BL and open Actions>Hacking Tool, the new weapons folder will have files for all the weapons.

You'll see a spot to enter the bullet ID for levels 1-3 respectfully, and you can find a list of Bullet ID's here by your truly.
 
Dec 2, 2017 at 5:26 PM
Junior Member
CSE Discord Admin
"It's dangerous to go alone!"
Join Date: Jun 13, 2017
Location:
Posts: 34
Age: 16
How to make a weapon shot another weapon's bullet? For example, the machine gun will shot polar star bullets
or bubbler that shots fireballs
Even simpler than the other's propositions, replace the graphics of the weapons with other weapons graphics.
 
Dec 2, 2017 at 5:58 PM
The God of Development Heaven
Modding Community Discord Admin
"Deaths: 4000"
Join Date: Apr 23, 2013
Location: Development HEAVEN
Posts: 967
Age: 21
Even simpler than the other's propositions, replace the graphics of the weapons with other weapons graphics.
Yeah no that isn't gonna work.

He wants a machine gun, which autoreloads ammo and has a fire rate, to use polar star bullets. You can't edit graphics to get that.
 
Dec 2, 2017 at 6:10 PM
Senior Member
"Master using it, and you can have this!"
Join Date: Jun 4, 2014
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 87
Age: 17
If you don't want to dive into assembly yet (and thats perfectly fine, you pretty much need a full week of practice to start working with it), I made some aforementioned haxinator files to speed up and simply the process of editing weapons.

Heres the folder of all my files, you want the "Weapons" and "Bullets" folders in particular. Grab your copy of Boosters Lab, go into the Hacks folder and delete the old Weapons folder, then place these two in. Then when you open your mod in BL and open Actions>Hacking Tool, the new weapons folder will have files for all the weapons.

You'll see a spot to enter the bullet ID for levels 1-3 respectfully, and you can find a list of Bullet ID's here by your truly.
Thanks! It's very easy to use :3

Even simpler than the other's propositions, replace the graphics of the weapons with other weapons graphics.
Replacing the graphics doesn't change it's behaviour. I want something cool like a gun that shots fireball repeatly and auto-reload it (machine gun+fireball) without needing advanced hacks. So, just replacing the the bullet to another gun seems more easier.

E:
He wants a machine gun, which autoreloads ammo and has a fire rate, to use polar star bullets. You can't edit graphics to get that.
Yes. Like that.
 
Last edited:
Dec 2, 2017 at 8:41 PM
Spur is the best gun because its super cool
"Big Joe Tire and Battery Restaurant! Opening Soon! Eat at Big Joes!"
Join Date: Jan 15, 2017
Location: Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 529
Age: 11
Yeah no that isn't gonna work.

He wants a machine gun, which autoreloads ammo and has a fire rate, to use polar star bullets. You can't edit graphics to get that.
im probably missing something but can't they just put the polar star bullet over the machine gun bullet?



i have a question my map system won't open when i press w in my game (not the real good cave story game) how does one fix this

if its really complicated just say "2 complicated" and i'll understand
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Dec 2, 2017 at 9:40 PM
Professional-Idiot
Modding Community Discord Moderator
"All your forum are belong to us!"
Join Date: Oct 20, 2013
Location: Planet X (Godzilla)
Posts: 563
i have a question my map system won't open when i press w in my game (not the real good cave story game) how does one fix this

if its really complicated just say "2 complicated" and i'll understand
You need to set the "equip" command; so say if you get the map system: <IT+0002 (the map system), then do <EQ+0002 which allows you to access the map system by pressing w. This also applies to the booster 0.8, booster 2.0, whimsical star, air tank, mimiga mask, nikumaru counter (290 counter), arms barrier and turbo charge. The booster 0.8, booster 2.0 and whimsical star technically ignore the <eq+ command because the <eq+ command is in their item descriptions so don't worry about those 3 items but for the rest you need to put the <eq+ command in. Here's the list of bites you need to add for certain items.
0001 Booster v0.8 (ignored if v2.0 on)
0002 Map System
0004 Arms Barrier
0008 Turbocharge
0016 Curly's Air Tank
0032 Booster v2.0
0064 Mimiga Mask
0128 Whimsical Star
0256 Nikumaru Counter
 
Last edited:
Dec 3, 2017 at 1:06 AM
Junior Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Sep 23, 2016
Location:
Posts: 12
Age: 17
Is there a way to change the start of the game such that you just start in a room without anything too special? For whatever reason, if I create a new map, and set the game to start there, nothing seems to load. As far as I can tell, it's loading the map and everything, since sounds play when I move and the health bar shows up, but the health bar is the only thing that shows up. Everything else is blank. Using BL, if it helps.
 
Dec 3, 2017 at 1:11 AM
Spur is the best gun because its super cool
"Big Joe Tire and Battery Restaurant! Opening Soon! Eat at Big Joes!"
Join Date: Jan 15, 2017
Location: Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 529
Age: 11
Is there a way to change the start of the game such that you just start in a room without anything too special? For whatever reason, if I create a new map, and set the game to start there, nothing seems to load. As far as I can tell, it's loading the map and everything, since sounds play when I move and the health bar shows up, but the health bar is the only thing that shows up. Everything else is blank. Using BL, if it helps.
i dont know a lot about things but have you set your spawn point in the right place
also what does it look like is it just black or gray

again im not good at things but ill try to help


You need to set the "equip" command; so say if you get the map system: <IT+0002 (the map system), then do <EQ+0002 which allows you to access the map system by pressing w. This also applies to the booster 0.8, booster 2.0, whimsical star, air tank, mimiga mask, nikumaru counter (290 counter), arms barrier and turbo charge. The booster 0.8, booster 2.0 and whimsical star technically ignore the <eq+ command because the <eq+ command is in their item descriptions so don't worry about those 3 items but for the rest you need to put the <eq+ command in. Here's the list of bites you need to add for certain items.
0001 Booster v0.8 (ignored if v2.0 on)
0002 Map System
0004 Arms Barrier
0008 Turbocharge
0016 Curly's Air Tank
0032 Booster v2.0
0064 Mimiga Mask
0128 Whimsical Star
0256 Nikumaru Counter
oh thanks! i never really thought of the map system being the "equip" type
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Dec 3, 2017 at 1:14 AM
Junior Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Sep 23, 2016
Location:
Posts: 12
Age: 17
i dont know a lot about things but have you set your spawn point in the right place
also what does it look like is it just black or gray

again im not good at things but ill try to help
Its gray. And I'm fairly certain I have the position set correctly.


On second thought, I don't know what I was doing wrong, but starting the whole process over seems to have fixed it?
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Dec 3, 2017 at 1:24 AM
Spur is the best gun because its super cool
"Big Joe Tire and Battery Restaurant! Opening Soon! Eat at Big Joes!"
Join Date: Jan 15, 2017
Location: Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 529
Age: 11
On second thought, I don't know what I was doing wrong, but starting the whole process over seems to have fixed it?
yay


a lot of people here taught me how to fix weird issues so all that i know is what someone else here knows
 
Dec 3, 2017 at 1:29 AM
Junior Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Sep 23, 2016
Location:
Posts: 12
Age: 17
Wait snap it's doing it again.
EDIT: Okay, so... I think it has something to do with the scene that plays before the titlescreen? I've set text to appear on that screen, and when I tried duplicating the map and starting without events (which had been working before) it just played the event from the titlescreen. Which is particularly odd given that this is, you know, a map without events. Besides that, its still just the health and a blank screen.
 
Last edited:
Dec 3, 2017 at 1:46 AM
Bonds that separate us
Forum Administrator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 20, 2006
Location:
Posts: 2788
Age: 29
Guys please don't double post that close together it really isn't appropriate or necessary
 
Dec 3, 2017 at 4:12 AM
The God of Development Heaven
Modding Community Discord Admin
"Deaths: 4000"
Join Date: Apr 23, 2013
Location: Development HEAVEN
Posts: 967
Age: 21
Wait snap it's doing it again.
EDIT: Okay, so... I think it has something to do with the scene that plays before the titlescreen? I've set text to appear on that screen, and when I tried duplicating the map and starting without events (which had been working before) it just played the event from the titlescreen. Which is particularly odd given that this is, you know, a map without events. Besides that, its still just the health and a blank screen.
You should use a <FAI when you start the game.
 
Dec 3, 2017 at 1:54 PM
Spur is the best gun because its super cool
"Big Joe Tire and Battery Restaurant! Opening Soon! Eat at Big Joes!"
Join Date: Jan 15, 2017
Location: Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 529
Age: 11
i think the story line of my game is bad

should i go back and try to fix a lot of it
because it seems really bad and doesn't make a lot of sense since i changed it a lot later


but i'll have to change A LOT OF THINGS
(and it's bad that's not the question)

but like is it worth it do you think
i have to change somethings but i cant change too much because some of it is a good idea

but maybe i should stop making my weapons "water blaster" because that's still pretty strong compared to my missile launcher called missile launcher
 
Dec 3, 2017 at 4:59 PM
Soup Man
"All your forum are belong to us!"
Join Date: Jul 15, 2014
Location: Soup
Posts: 617
Age: 3
i think the story line of my game is bad

should i go back and try to fix a lot of it
because it seems really bad and doesn't make a lot of sense since i changed it a lot later


but i'll have to change A LOT OF THINGS
(and it's bad that's not the question)

but like is it worth it do you think
i have to change somethings but i cant change too much because some of it is a good idea

but maybe i should stop making my weapons "water blaster" because that's still pretty strong compared to my missile launcher called missile launcher
If you think that your story line has some problems, I think you should go fix the pieces you don't like. Regarding the part about weapons, I think a "water blaster" could still be strong, just not as strong as a missile launcher. Water is apparently capable of shooting through metal at high enough speeds. Maybe just nerf the weapon as to not make it quite as strong as missiles, but still be a useful weapon.
 
Dec 3, 2017 at 6:43 PM
Professional-Idiot
Modding Community Discord Moderator
"All your forum are belong to us!"
Join Date: Oct 20, 2013
Location: Planet X (Godzilla)
Posts: 563
If you think that your story line has some problems, I think you should go fix the pieces you don't like. Regarding the part about weapons, I think a "water blaster" could still be strong, just not as strong as a missile launcher. Water is apparently capable of shooting through metal at high enough speeds. Maybe just nerf the weapon as to not make it quite as strong as missiles, but still be a useful weapon.
How exactly do you increase the damage of the missiles in the missile launcher? I checked the bullet data and it says 0 damage, but when I increase that number it does nothing.
 
Dec 3, 2017 at 7:15 PM
Spur is the best gun because its super cool
"Big Joe Tire and Battery Restaurant! Opening Soon! Eat at Big Joes!"
Join Date: Jan 15, 2017
Location: Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 529
Age: 11
If you think that your story line has some problems, I think you should go fix the pieces you don't like. Regarding the part about weapons, I think a "water blaster" could still be strong, just not as strong as a missile launcher. Water is apparently capable of shooting through metal at high enough speeds. Maybe just nerf the weapon as to not make it quite as strong as missiles, but still be a useful weapon.
yeah even though no one would really get that

in my story theres supposed to be someone that makes weapons different or something (maybe weak) but I'm not really sure what to do
 
Top