Steam Link issues

Old topic!
The last post in this thread is over 60 days old. Posting in this thread will be considered a bump, so please make an attempt to be courteous if you go ahead with it.

If the last post is over 6 months old, it may instead be a better idea to start a new topic. If you aren't sure about what to do, feel free to ask a staff member for help, or try to locate a 'general questions'-type thread if it exists in this (sub-)forum.
Mar 19, 2016 at 1:58 PM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Mar 19, 2016
Location:
Posts: 8
Hi,
I've added this game to Steam via the "add non-steam game". I was hoping to be able to play this gem on the couch, but the steam link will not recognize the controller inputs, and the icon at the game displays a keyboard. On the desktop I have full controller support but on the Steam Link there is nada.

Actually one of the buttons (maybe it was 3?) functions as the "Escape" key.

Windows 10 user, gamepad is Logitech Rumblepad 2
 
Mar 19, 2016 at 4:01 PM
THE suus
"..."
Join Date: May 14, 2012
Location: yeah
Posts: 399
Age: 20
try joytokey. works for pretty much everything.
 
Mar 20, 2016 at 6:05 PM
Senior Member
Modding Community Discord Moderator
CSE Discord Moderator
"Fly, Fly, Fly!"
Join Date: Jan 14, 2014
Location: Antarctica (The Penguins say Hi)
Posts: 127
Age: 20
How did you set up your controller on the PC? (Did you use DoConfig?)
 
Mar 21, 2016 at 7:54 PM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Mar 19, 2016
Location:
Posts: 8
I use JoyToKey on the desktop to set up the controller. Unfortunately the Steam Link does not seem to pick up on this.
 
Mar 22, 2016 at 3:12 PM
Senior Member
Modding Community Discord Moderator
CSE Discord Moderator
"Fly, Fly, Fly!"
Join Date: Jan 14, 2014
Location: Antarctica (The Penguins say Hi)
Posts: 127
Age: 20
Try setting up your controller using Doconfig, I've heard that things like x360ce, JoytoKey, etc. don't work with the steam link.
 
Mar 23, 2016 at 7:32 AM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Mar 19, 2016
Location:
Posts: 8
So last night I set the controller up with Doconfig, and everything worked fine on the desktop downstairs. JoyToKey was disabled. Upstairs on the Steam Link however, the same as before. Button 2 is escape, and nothing else works.
 
Mar 23, 2016 at 6:38 PM
Senior Member
Modding Community Discord Moderator
CSE Discord Moderator
"Fly, Fly, Fly!"
Join Date: Jan 14, 2014
Location: Antarctica (The Penguins say Hi)
Posts: 127
Age: 20
Okay... iirc, when you plug in a controller into the steam link, it will emulate an xbox 360 controller and send that emulated output into your game. So, if you can figure out a way to get a 360 controller to work with cave story, you should be able to use any controller through the steam link.
These settings for do config might be a good start:
1 = A = Jump
2 = B = Jump
3 = X = Attack
4 = Y = Attack
5 = LB = Weapon -
6 = RB = Weapon +
7 = Back = Map
8 = Start = Item
 
Mar 24, 2016 at 7:41 AM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Mar 19, 2016
Location:
Posts: 8
That's pretty much the same config I had set up for the Rumblepad 2. Worked fine on the desktop, but Steam Link does not comply... :(
 
Mar 24, 2016 at 6:09 PM
Senior Member
Modding Community Discord Moderator
CSE Discord Moderator
"Fly, Fly, Fly!"
Join Date: Jan 14, 2014
Location: Antarctica (The Penguins say Hi)
Posts: 127
Age: 20
Have you tried using desktop mode?
 
Mar 24, 2016 at 6:25 PM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Mar 19, 2016
Location:
Posts: 8
Not sure what that is, I'll have to look that up somewhere in the Steam Link settings. Unless you mean there is a desktop mode in Cave Story?
 
Mar 24, 2016 at 9:10 PM
gigantic immortal dog...?
"That dog!"
Join Date: Apr 18, 2006
Location: Forever wandering the tower...!
Posts: 1746
I don't have Steam Link, but I have a Nvidia Shield TV which I run Steam's big picture mode with. I used Xpadder to remap to keyboard keys and it worked fine.
But, looking on google for a second, looks like it might not work for Steam Link? Or they just had problems with it and joy2key.
On the other hand, someone posted a link to this:
http://steamcommunity.com/app/353380/discussions/0/490125737473662697/
Might work for you
 
Mar 26, 2016 at 8:38 PM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Mar 19, 2016
Location:
Posts: 8
Mar 26, 2016 at 9:51 PM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Mar 19, 2016
Location:
Posts: 8
I don't have Steam Link, but I have a Nvidia Shield TV which I run Steam's big picture mode with. I used Xpadder to remap to keyboard keys and it worked fine.
But, looking on google for a second, looks like it might not work for Steam Link? Or they just had problems with it and joy2key.
On the other hand, someone posted a link to this:
http://steamcommunity.com/app/353380/discussions/0/490125737473662697/
Might work for you
This worked! Exactly as the first post on that forum. Thanks for your help guys!
 
Top