Jun 12, 2019 at 11:31 AM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Mar 25, 2019
Location:
Posts: 206
How would I get the maps to be visible, I'm adding new maps but the screen just stays that purplish blue color and doesn't show anything. (I haven't modded CS in quite awhile so I forgot.)

If I recall correctly you should do this:
<MNA<CMU00..(you use CMU to choose whatever song you want to hear, for example cemetery is 0012)<FAI0000<END
<MNA<CMU00..<FAI0001<END
<MNA<CMU00..<FAI0002<END
<MNA<CMU00..<FAI0003<END
<MNA<CMU00..<FAI0004<END
Hope this might help ya.
 
Jun 12, 2019 at 4:57 PM
War criminal
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 2758
Age: 29
<MNA and <CMU aren't exactly necessary, but they are complimentary.
 
Jun 13, 2019 at 7:49 PM
Junior Member
"It's dangerous to go alone!"
Join Date: May 14, 2018
Location:
Posts: 37
Age: 20
Put a <WAI between them then.
put a wai between what?
(I started working on my mod again, I now vaguely understand the entire thing so no more noob question spamming for me)
 
Jun 13, 2019 at 8:31 PM
Deliverer of Sweets
Bobomb says: "I need a hug!"
Join Date: Jul 20, 2015
Location: Under sea level or something
Posts: 785
Age: 25
put a wai between what?
(I started working on my mod again, I now vaguely understand the entire thing so no more noob question spamming for me)
Ah whoops i never answered this did I.
IIRC you wanted to spawn multiple smoke entities but don't want them to all do their animation at once right? Just put a <WAI command between the two commands you use to spawn these (or between all of them if it's more than one). You still have to put down a number for <WAI but something between like 10 or 25 might work for you, hard to say without context.
 
Jun 14, 2019 at 8:11 AM
Junior Member
"It's dangerous to go alone!"
Join Date: May 14, 2018
Location:
Posts: 37
Age: 20
Just put a <WAI command between the two commands you use to spawn these
How does one use commands to spawn an entity?
 
Jun 14, 2019 at 8:17 AM
War criminal
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 2758
Age: 29
How does one use commands to spawn an entity?
<SNPWWWW:XXXX:YYYY:ZZZZ

W - Entity number
X - X position
Y - Y position
Z - Direction it's facing (0, 2, and 4 can really only work for most of them)

And then with what Mint's describing, just do this repetitively until you're satisfied with the amount that's being spawned.
Code:
<SNPWWWW:XXXX:YYYY:ZZZZ<WAIXXXX
 
Jun 14, 2019 at 10:56 AM
Junior Member
"It's dangerous to go alone!"
Join Date: May 14, 2018
Location:
Posts: 37
Age: 20
Code:
<SNPWWWW:XXXX:YYYY:ZZZZ<WAIXXXX
Is there a command for a while loop too?
 
Jun 14, 2019 at 11:31 AM
Deliverer of Sweets
Bobomb says: "I need a hug!"
Join Date: Jul 20, 2015
Location: Under sea level or something
Posts: 785
Age: 25
Is there a command for a while loop too?
There isnt really a command for while loops although you can make one as long if you use flag checks to return to the same event.
If you do this though you must make absolutely sure that there is at least one <WAI and also a way to get out of the loop.
 
Jun 14, 2019 at 4:54 PM
War criminal
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 2758
Age: 29
There is a way to create a looped event, because I really doubt it's possible to do it with <FLJ. However, it requires the usage of a custom set of commands available through TSC+: <VAR.

Here's an example of how the loop would look:
Code:
#0100
<VAR0050:0000<EVE0101
#0101
<VAJV050:0015:0000:0102<SNPWWWW:XXXX:YYYY:ZZZZ:<WAI0001<VAO0050+0001<EVE0101
#0102
<END
And the descriptions for what's going on in the TSC:
#0100
Set number 0 to Variable 50,
Jump to Event #0101

#0101
If Variable 50 is equal to number 15, burger king foot lettuce, jump to Event #0102
Spawn entity W in X/Y position on the map, facing Z direction.
Wait for 1 frame
Add 1 to Variable 50
Jump to Event #0101
This will go on until Variable 50 is equal to number 15, and there should be 15 entities spawned as a result of it.

#0102
End Script
I hope this will help. Also, with <VAR, only Variables 8 to 123 are writable without breaking anything past that, so work with them wisely. :p
 
Last edited:
Jun 14, 2019 at 6:02 PM
Deliverer of Sweets
Bobomb says: "I need a hug!"
Join Date: Jul 20, 2015
Location: Under sea level or something
Posts: 785
Age: 25
There is a way to create a looped event, because I really doubt it's possible to do it with <FLJ. However, it requires the usage of a custom set of commands available through TSC+: <VAR.
Unless im horribly mistaken it is very possible to loop events using vanilla flags, though you'll need multiple flags dephending on how optimised your tsc is and how often you want to loop the event.
 
Jun 14, 2019 at 6:17 PM
War criminal
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 2758
Age: 29
Unless im horribly mistaken it is very possible to loop events using vanilla flags, though you'll need multiple flags dephending on how optimised your tsc is and how often you want to loop the event.
I'm intrigued now, would you provide an example, if you can think of one? Because that'd be pretty cool to see in practice.
 
Jun 14, 2019 at 7:01 PM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 5998
It's probably theoretically possible but it would be extremely tedious to write due to only being able to read/write one bit at a time and having no concept of "variables"
Using some custom TSC like the VAR hack would be a bit less painful but the language still isn't really built for it
 
Jun 29, 2019 at 11:42 PM
ZYZZ Spur is the best gun because its super cool
"All your forum are belong to us!"
Join Date: Jan 15, 2017
Location: Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 564
Age: 16
is there any easy way to make it so the curly fighting AI thing can go past those entity barriers?
 
Jun 30, 2019 at 10:05 AM
Senior Member
"Wahoo! Upgrade!"
Join Date: Dec 22, 2018
Location: Sand Zone Residence
Posts: 55
If you don't need the barriers for anything else, just change the tile type.

That or I don't understand the question.
 
Jun 30, 2019 at 5:24 PM
War criminal
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 2758
Age: 29
Maybe use an h/v trigger a few tiles down and teleport her behind you? (Including an <SNP for smoke to indicate she did teleport)
 
Jul 10, 2019 at 8:08 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Mar 25, 2019
Location:
Posts: 206
So I was working on a little something but now I have a problem: I gave an entity a certain event and then created many other entities and gave them OTHER events but now despite this all entities act as if they were the first one and apply that only event, which is a message btw...I'd like to know why it happens and what I should do to solve it. Also this and the fact that lately Cave editor has been crashing a lot are driving me INSANE, so plz send help.
 
Jul 10, 2019 at 8:31 PM
War criminal
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 2758
Age: 29
Would you show us the script and the entities with their assigned event number?
Also switch to Booster's Lab if Cave Editor has been crashing on your end.
 
Jul 11, 2019 at 1:37 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Mar 25, 2019
Location:
Posts: 206
Sure thing.
The first entity:Capture 1.0.PNGCapture 1.0.1.PNG
Capture 1.PNG
A random door:Capture 2.2.PNG1562848208942.png
Capture 2.PNG
The problem:Capture 4.png
Hope this is what you wanted to see.
By the way I'm using booster now and it's working just fine so that's good.
 

Attachments

  • Capture 1.PNG
    Capture 1.PNG
    1.6 KB · Views: 0
  • Capture 2.PNG
    Capture 2.PNG
    1.1 KB · Views: 0
  • Capture 1.0.1.PNG
    Capture 1.0.1.PNG
    3.8 KB · Views: 0
Jul 11, 2019 at 2:55 PM
Deliverer of Sweets
Bobomb says: "I need a hug!"
Join Date: Jul 20, 2015
Location: Under sea level or something
Posts: 785
Age: 25
Are your events sorted correctly? if #0300 is above #0169 then calling the latter will make the first run because cave story is weird.
 
Jul 11, 2019 at 4:01 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Mar 25, 2019
Location:
Posts: 206
It works, thanks a lot! Anyway I can't believe the reason why it wasn't working was so stupid.
 
Top