• Most people probably don't realise this, but this forum has had two editors for a number of years. One is the xenForo default editor, and the other is a custom editor I made years back I called BBCEd.

    All the settings for which editor you use was lost during the upgrade. You can find the setting under Account Settings > Preferences > Editor.

Quick Modding/Hacking Answers Thread

Sep 26, 2010 at 1:15 AM
Banned
"Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-BLEIUP"
Join Date: Aug 19, 2010
Location: South of Nowhere
Posts: 307
Okay, I was working and I made a signpost, with the words "hello quote!". When I touch the signpost and hit down, the sound plays but no text appears. The script appeared to be working right, so I made a new one the same way. The exact same thing happened. Any ideas?
 
Sep 26, 2010 at 1:25 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 6000
Post the TSC you've got, perhaps the problem's in there. It's running some kind of event since the thing's making a noise.
@ Story: It's sound 0x2E AKA 46. It gets played a bunch of times in rapid succession to make the sound it does.
 
Sep 26, 2010 at 1:34 AM
Banned
"Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-BLEIUP"
Join Date: Aug 19, 2010
Location: South of Nowhere
Posts: 307
Nooby question time, what's TSC stand for?
 
Sep 26, 2010 at 1:36 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 6000
I don't actually know. T Script or something. But, it's the stuff that should look like this:

#0187
<KEY<MSGHello Quote!<NOD<END
 
Sep 26, 2010 at 1:39 AM
Banned
"Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-BLEIUP"
Join Date: Aug 19, 2010
Location: South of Nowhere
Posts: 307
Okay then, here it is:

#0187
<KEY<MSGHello Quote!<NOD<END

Does it matter which map it's in, because this signpost is right next to the door that enters into starting point in first cave.
 
Sep 26, 2010 at 1:44 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 6000
Each map has its own TSC file, so the script should be in the one for the same map that the entity's in. CE handles which one for the most part, so that shouldn't be a concern. Perhaps the entity's event number isn't set correctly? You want the box next to "Event #" to say 187 and the box next to "Flags" to say 2000. Doesn't really matter what's in the other one.
 
Sep 26, 2010 at 1:49 AM
Banned
"Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-BLEIUP"
Join Date: Aug 19, 2010
Location: South of Nowhere
Posts: 307
Umm, what is entity ID for? I have a zero in that right now, but 187 in the
event # spot.
 
Sep 26, 2010 at 1:51 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 6000
It's mostly used for flags, to determine whether or not to show an entity, and a few other things. Just leave it 0.

If it's still not working, uh.. Ah!
Try putting a space between the event # and the event, like instead of

#0187
<KEY<MSGHello Quote!<NOD<END

put it like

#0187

<KEY<MSGHello Quote!<NOD<END

That's my secret trick for when stuff doesn't work for me.
 
Sep 26, 2010 at 1:55 AM
Banned
"Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-BLEIUP"
Join Date: Aug 19, 2010
Location: South of Nowhere
Posts: 307
Yesss! It works! I was about to ragequit, thank you so much noxid! :)
 
Sep 26, 2010 at 1:57 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 6000
You're welcome. I only wish I knew why you have to do that sometimes... >_>
 
Sep 26, 2010 at 1:59 AM
Banned
"Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-BLEIUP"
Join Date: Aug 19, 2010
Location: South of Nowhere
Posts: 307
My guess would be occasionally the script is just too much for CS, so it needs that enter to try and catch back up to what you are trying to run.
 
Sep 26, 2010 at 11:08 AM
Been here way too long...
"Big Joe Tire and Battery Restaurant! Opening Soon! Eat at Big Joes!"
Join Date: Sep 16, 2009
Location:
Posts: 519
Noxid said:
You're welcome. I only wish I knew why you have to do that sometimes... >_>
Cmon, you're assembly man


GO IN THERE AND ASSEMBLE IT :mad:
 
Sep 26, 2010 at 7:24 PM
I don't anymore.
"I'm sorry Mario, but your princess is in another castle."
Join Date: Aug 9, 2010
Location: Greener Pastures
Posts: 1187
Age: 25
I believe that TSC stands for "The Scripting Code" seeing as pixel named other things in that manner.
 
Sep 27, 2010 at 1:21 AM
Senior Member
"I, Ikachan. The Life and Documentary of the OrigiNAL SQuiD."
Join Date: Nov 3, 2009
Location: United States, East Coast
Posts: 150
Hey, I've been inactive for a REALLY long time.

I am looking into creating a new mod in my free time and I REALLY want to use the Money trick by SeriousFace. (http://www.cavestory.org/forums/threads/1047/)

I've been looking at the scripts, but I think I found a flaw. Say I want to make an item cost 64 gold. If I have the 128 flag set, which would mean I had 128 gold, the script (<PRI<AMJ0002:2606<MSG<TURWant to buy a gun for 64 gold?<YNJ0000<CLR<FLJ0064:2602<CLRNot enough gold.<NOD<END) would reject me, even though I technically had more money than that.

Basically, if anyone knows how to use this, how do I dictate prices and make sure they work?
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Sep 27, 2010 at 1:25 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 6000
That is so old school. I recommend the TSC Varibles hack. It should be kicking around somewhere...

Anyway, basically what it's doing is binary maths. Check first if you have flag 64 set, and if no then check if flag 128 is set. If no, check if flag 256 is set. If not, check the next higher... etc etc. and then once you get to one that is then set it to zero and set all the ones less than it 1 down to flag 64.
Alternatively, the TSC variable hack will give you the same functionality with a heck of a lot less flag checking.
 
Sep 27, 2010 at 1:36 AM
Senior Member
"I, Ikachan. The Life and Documentary of the OrigiNAL SQuiD."
Join Date: Nov 3, 2009
Location: United States, East Coast
Posts: 150
Noxid said:
That is so old school. I recommend the TSC Varibles hack. It should be kicking around somewhere...

Anyway, basically what it's doing is binary maths. Check first if you have flag 64 set, and if no then check if flag 128 is set. If no, check if flag 256 is set. If not, check the next higher... etc etc. and then once you get to one that is then set it to zero and set all the ones less than it 1 down to flag 64.
Alternatively, the TSC variable hack will give you the same functionality with a heck of a lot less flag checking.
If I could find the Variable hack I'd use it...I'll keep searching.

Thanks for the help though, but yeah, the Variable hack (which I didn't know existed) should be easier...
 
Sep 27, 2010 at 1:48 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 6000
Guess who made it? Meee!
Also I didn't post it yet.
http://tile44.org/~noxid/TSCHack[13].zip
You need Carrotlord's Autohacker, just put the contents of that folder in the hexdata folder. There's also a text doc called documentsation that says what new commands there are.
The only downside of this is, it uses the Undead Core's code space. sorry.
 
Sep 29, 2010 at 6:33 AM
Novice Member
"Officially Worth 1 Rupee"
Join Date: Sep 29, 2010
Location:
Posts: 1
Cave story modding help. :(

I just have a quick question. When modding cave story, how do you create doors and destinations?

Like making the first cave transfer you...say...to the egg corridor?

I'm a newbie at this, sorry. I looked all over for an answer.
 
Sep 29, 2010 at 7:06 AM
Absentee Modder
"Ha! Ha! Ha! Mega Man is no match for my Mimiga Man!"
Join Date: Sep 7, 2010
Location: Outside your window. No no, don't check, it's okay
Posts: 272
Age: 24
It's the TRA command.

<TRAxxxx:yyyy:zzzz:wwww

where X is the number of the map you're trying to go to, Y is the event to run when you get there, and z,w are the coordinates to place your character.

Here's a pretty good page that lists the TSC functions, among other things: http://lotlot.net/misc/doukutsu/tsc.txt
 
Sep 29, 2010 at 7:49 AM
The Suicide Option
"Heavy swords for sale. Suitable for most RPG Protagonists. Apply now!"
Join Date: Jan 1, 2008
Location: Styx
Posts: 1973
It's all explained here.
TSC can be tricky to learn at first, so study that. ;3
And yeah, Jed has it right. <TRAXXXX:YYYY:ZZZZ:WWWW

Also, a complete list of TSC commands can be found here: Linkage
Includes all commands, including detailed usage of the ones unutilized in CS itself.
 
Top