Quick Modding/Hacking Answers Thread

Nov 22, 2019 at 2:54 PM
Senior Member
"This is the greatest handgun ever made! You have to ask yourself, do I feel lucky?"
Join Date: Sep 23, 2019
Location:
Posts: 97
So I've got a problem. Instead of the normal intro scene, I get taken to the Outer Wall. I press X which takes me to the Title Screen and I press New Game. It then brings up the following Dialogue: "With the shield up, I can't get to No.00's room. I think one of those terminals ought to be able to lower the shield..." After that, it takes me to a blue screen where I can't do anything but drown. I try again and it does the same thing.

How do I correct this?
 
Nov 22, 2019 at 3:28 PM
Big Floppa
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2482
Age: 25
What circumstances did you have to do in order to get something like this?
 
Nov 22, 2019 at 4:01 PM
Senior Member
"This is the greatest handgun ever made! You have to ask yourself, do I feel lucky?"
Join Date: Sep 23, 2019
Location:
Posts: 97
What circumstances did you have to do in order to get something like this?
That's the thing, I'm not sure. Maybe it happened because of the alterations I made to create the custom levels, or maybe it's a script thing? In either case, I will need to get that problem dealt with.
 
Nov 22, 2019 at 4:49 PM
Deliverer of Sweets
Bobomb says: "I need a hug!"
Join Date: Jul 20, 2015
Location: Under sea level or something
Posts: 752
Age: 22
Did you remove any maps or change the intro script?
 
Nov 22, 2019 at 4:55 PM
Senior Member
"This is the greatest handgun ever made! You have to ask yourself, do I feel lucky?"
Join Date: Sep 23, 2019
Location:
Posts: 97
Did you remove any maps or change the intro script?
Yeah, I did change the intro script. Is that going to be a problem?
 
Nov 22, 2019 at 6:21 PM
Deliverer of Sweets
Bobomb says: "I need a hug!"
Join Date: Jul 20, 2015
Location: Under sea level or something
Posts: 752
Age: 22
That dephends on what you did
 
Nov 22, 2019 at 6:31 PM
Senior Member
"This is the greatest handgun ever made! You have to ask yourself, do I feel lucky?"
Join Date: Sep 23, 2019
Location:
Posts: 97
That dephends on what you did
I know that at some point, that my original code had disappeared and I had to rewrite it. As far as I know, I didn't remove any maps though I did move them around. I doubt this problem is fatal, it's just a matter of figuring out the root cause.
 
Nov 22, 2019 at 7:41 PM
Big Floppa
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2482
Age: 25
I know that at some point, that my original code had disappeared and I had to rewrite it. As far as I know, I didn't remove any maps though I did move them around. I doubt this problem is fatal, it's just a matter of figuring out the root cause.
Can you show us the TSC scripts you modified, as well as the settings for the Intro_Cutscene hack in the Hackinator?
 
Nov 23, 2019 at 10:43 AM
Senior Member
"This is the greatest handgun ever made! You have to ask yourself, do I feel lucky?"
Join Date: Sep 23, 2019
Location:
Posts: 97
Can you show us the TSC scripts you modified, as well as the settings for the Intro_Cutscene hack in the Hackinator?

So this is the script for the intro cutscene. I've haven't touched this because it's not my main priority at the moment.

This is the code for the Hub level, which I also put into the other 3 levels. This replaced the original code which ended up deleted.

No, I don't have the Intro Cutscene hack in the Hackinator (is it part of Booster's Lab?). Would installing it solve the problem?
 
Nov 23, 2019 at 2:13 PM
Big Floppa
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2482
Age: 25
It's part of Booster's Lab v510, but if you're using v500, you can just import the "hacks" folder from the newer directory. (v510 is unstable compared to v500, so stealing its hacks folder is the next best thing to do)

PS - please fix those 3 digit event numbers to 4 digits. #200 does not mean the same as #0200 in TSC.
 
Nov 23, 2019 at 2:55 PM
Senior Member
"This is the greatest handgun ever made! You have to ask yourself, do I feel lucky?"
Join Date: Sep 23, 2019
Location:
Posts: 97
It's part of Booster's Lab v510, but if you're using v500, you can just import the "hacks" folder from the newer directory. (v510 is unstable compared to v500, so stealing its hacks folder is the next best thing to do)

PS - please fix those 3 digit event numbers to 4 digits. #200 does not mean the same as #0200 in TSC.
I've fixed the event numbers, Serri. Now it appears that I'll need to import the Hacks folder from v510 because I've been using only v500. Wait, would doing that require me to download Booster's Lab v510 as well, or do I only need v500?
 
Nov 23, 2019 at 5:47 PM
Deliverer of Sweets
Bobomb says: "I need a hug!"
Join Date: Jul 20, 2015
Location: Under sea level or something
Posts: 752
Age: 22
Now it appears that I'll need to import the Hacks folder from v510 because I've been using only v500. Wait, would doing that require me to download Booster's Lab v510 as well, or do I only need v500?
You just download v5.1.0, copy the contents from it's hacks folder to your current version's hack folder and done.
v4.3.0 could probably use v5.1.0 hacks no problem.
 
Nov 23, 2019 at 6:01 PM
Senior Member
"This is the greatest handgun ever made! You have to ask yourself, do I feel lucky?"
Join Date: Sep 23, 2019
Location:
Posts: 97
You just download v5.1.0, copy the contents from it's hacks folder to your current version's hack folder and done.
v4.3.0 could probably use v5.1.0 hacks no problem.
I've done it. The intro cutscene settings are untouched. Now to figure out how to move this forward.
 
Nov 23, 2019 at 7:44 PM
Big Floppa
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2482
Age: 25
v4.3.0 could probably use v5.1.0 hacks no problem.
At least v430, since that's the launch of the Hackinator. The hacks can be read by older versions (tested with v330 and v251), but won't be applied due to lack of functionality.
 
Nov 24, 2019 at 9:55 AM
Senior Member
"This is the greatest handgun ever made! You have to ask yourself, do I feel lucky?"
Join Date: Sep 23, 2019
Location:
Posts: 97
I've done it. The intro cutscene settings are untouched. Now to figure out how to move this forward.
Can't believe that I forgot about this. I'll get this updated, considering it's incorrect.
 
Nov 24, 2019 at 12:57 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Mar 25, 2019
Location:
Posts: 206
Here we go again.
Hey guys, wanna play a game of "Spot Quote"?
Spot the Quote.PNG
So I've always thought that if you put a block on top of the glitchy ceiling slope you could prevent it from doing this but apparently I was wrong all along(?)
Well, all I'm asking is: is there a way to use the ceiling slope without getting Quote stuck in it?
That would be quite useful.
 
Nov 24, 2019 at 2:06 PM
Big Floppa
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2482
Age: 25
Well, all I'm asking is: is there a way to use the ceiling slope without getting Quote stuck in it?
For a short and sweet answer, you can't. Really, you just need to lower the slope by a tile and just have Quote run into a wall.
 
Nov 27, 2019 at 10:02 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Jul 6, 2019
Location: Somewhere you've been
Posts: 193
is there any way to change the music file type in Cave Story from .org to .mp3?
 
Top