Quick Modding/Hacking Answers Thread

Feb 14, 2019 at 7:54 AM
Junior Member
"It's dangerous to go alone!"
Join Date: May 14, 2018
Location:
Posts: 32
Age: 16
Between what?
 
Mar 14, 2019 at 2:07 PM
Deliverer of Sweets
"In Soviet Russia, graves keep YOU!"
Join Date: Jul 20, 2015
Location: Under sea level or something
Posts: 749
Age: 21
I vaguely remember hearing that the shootable and interactible flags for a npc conflict, is this true?
 
Mar 19, 2019 at 10:53 AM
Junior Member
"Wow! The more I drink of this magical beverage, the more games I can play! Wheee!"
Join Date: Feb 11, 2016
Location:
Posts: 20
I'm trying to change the blue color that pops up between fade outs and fade ins. (I changed Fade.bmp to a dark black color and the split second of blue is jarring.) A user named Mint was trying to do the same thing back in 2015, and this was the response:

Here's the assembly line where you can edit the blue during the fade-out transition:

CPU Disasm
Address Hex dump Command Comments
0040DE77 |. 68 00002000 PUSH 200000 ; /Arg1 = UNICODE "gscht"


You can change the 200000 to any hex code for the palette you want (it's usually found on the colors window on Paint.net).
I got OllyDbg and found the line of code, but when I try to change '200000' to '020202' (this being the color I'm trying to use), it gets changed to '20202'. When I try to run the game afterwards, it's still blue. I don't know anything about ASM or OllyDbg, so my questions are: are '020202' and '20202' the same thing? And how do I know if OllyDbg is actually saving the changes I'm making?
 
Mar 19, 2019 at 11:16 AM
Best cow
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2444
Age: 25
Trying it on my end, and it seems to work for me (in windowed and full screen)!
Code:
CPU Disasm
Address   Hex dump          Command                                      Comments
0040DE77      68 02020200   PUSH 20202
Just make sure the bitmap for Fade.bmp share the same hex as the "black screen" in-between. Also, when you save it, you do right click > edit > copy to executable > right click > save file, right?
 
Mar 20, 2019 at 9:55 AM
Junior Member
"Wow! The more I drink of this magical beverage, the more games I can play! Wheee!"
Join Date: Feb 11, 2016
Location:
Posts: 20
I don't know what I was doing to try to save my changes, but it was definitely not that. Now that I've actually saved it it works as intended. Thanks.
 
Mar 28, 2019 at 12:01 PM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Mar 27, 2019
Location: Italy
Posts: 4
Maybe this is not the correct place to post this question, but I didn’t want to make a new thread:

Why did people start modding/porting Cave Story? If it was open source like DooM, then I guess I’d see why, but I can’t imagine why someone circa 2004 (or whenever CS modding begun) thought to themselves “hey, I wanna disassemble Cave Story and see if I can make new levels”.
 
Mar 28, 2019 at 12:37 PM
Best cow
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2444
Age: 25
I feel you really should've just checked the op first, this is really just a howto thread on making mods
Got some modding difficulties, and you're not sure what to do about them? Search function isn't helping?
Ask here!
Sometimes it's easier to make the new thread instead
 
Mar 29, 2019 at 8:30 AM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Mar 27, 2019
Location: Italy
Posts: 4
I feel you really should've just checked the op first, this is really just a howto thread on making mods

Sometimes it's easier to make the new thread instead
Fair enough! Guess I’ll make a new thread. Thank you for telling me!
 
Mar 30, 2019 at 8:16 PM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Mar 30, 2019
Location:
Posts: 3
I`m totally new to modding in general, and I have no clue how to even install a mod. I have a "data" folder that I got from a randomizer mod, and a "Profile.dat" which I can`t open. How do I smack those two together in order to make the mod work?
 
Mar 31, 2019 at 2:55 AM
Best cow
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2444
Age: 25
Open up the data folder created by the randomizer and copy/paste the Stage folder in the data folder for the game, it should ask you to merge the folders together, just select yes and you'll be good. Profile.dat is your save file, btw
 
Apr 20, 2019 at 7:36 PM
Spur is the best gun because its super cool
"Big Joe Tire and Battery Restaurant! Opening Soon! Eat at Big Joes!"
Join Date: Jan 15, 2017
Location: Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 537
Age: 12
i forget if i asked this before but does anyone know how to remove health
like max health is 50 make it go to 45 max health
 
Apr 20, 2019 at 7:58 PM
Best cow
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2444
Age: 25
i forget if i asked this before but does anyone know how to remove health
like max health is 50 make it go to 45 max health
<ML+000+ should do the trick. Mayhaps we should include the ASCII Negative Values in the new modding guide as well...
 
Apr 20, 2019 at 8:39 PM
Deliverer of Sweets
"In Soviet Russia, graves keep YOU!"
Join Date: Jul 20, 2015
Location: Under sea level or something
Posts: 749
Age: 21
i forget if i asked this before but does anyone know how to remove health
like max health is 50 make it go to 45 max health
In Booster's Lab go to help and then go to the negative arguments page in the TSC folder, you'll find everything you need there.
 
Apr 21, 2019 at 4:23 AM
Spur is the best gun because its super cool
"Big Joe Tire and Battery Restaurant! Opening Soon! Eat at Big Joes!"
Join Date: Jan 15, 2017
Location: Northern Hemisphere
Posts: 537
Age: 12
In Booster's Lab go to help and then go to the negative arguments page in the TSC folder, you'll find everything you need there.
thanks :chin:
 
Apr 21, 2019 at 1:48 PM
Deliverer of Sweets
"In Soviet Russia, graves keep YOU!"
Join Date: Jul 20, 2015
Location: Under sea level or something
Posts: 749
Age: 21
How do I change the speed at which sand zone beetles fly at? Is it a value I need to adjust in the ASM?
 
Jun 12, 2019 at 2:28 AM
Junior Member
"Wow! The more I drink of this magical beverage, the more games I can play! Wheee!"
Join Date: Oct 14, 2015
Location: My Room
Posts: 28
Age: 16
How would I get the maps to be visible, I'm adding new maps but the screen just stays that purplish blue color and doesn't show anything. (I haven't modded CS in quite awhile so I forgot.)
 
Jun 12, 2019 at 3:17 AM
Best cow
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2444
Age: 25
How would I get the maps to be visible, I'm adding new maps but the screen just stays that purplish blue color and doesn't show anything. (I haven't modded CS in quite awhile so I forgot.)
Booster's Lab and Cave Editor both have descriptions for the commands in their script editors. Use <FAI btw.
 
Jun 12, 2019 at 11:31 AM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Mar 25, 2019
Location:
Posts: 200
How would I get the maps to be visible, I'm adding new maps but the screen just stays that purplish blue color and doesn't show anything. (I haven't modded CS in quite awhile so I forgot.)
If I recall correctly you should do this:
<MNA<CMU00..(you use CMU to choose whatever song you want to hear, for example cemetery is 0012)<FAI0000<END
<MNA<CMU00..<FAI0001<END
<MNA<CMU00..<FAI0002<END
<MNA<CMU00..<FAI0003<END
<MNA<CMU00..<FAI0004<END
Hope this might help ya.
 
Jun 12, 2019 at 4:57 PM
Best cow
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2444
Age: 25
<MNA and <CMU aren't exactly necessary, but they are complimentary.
 
Jun 13, 2019 at 7:49 PM
Junior Member
"It's dangerous to go alone!"
Join Date: May 14, 2018
Location:
Posts: 32
Age: 16
Put a <WAI between them then.
put a wai between what?
(I started working on my mod again, I now vaguely understand the entire thing so no more noob question spamming for me)
 
Top