Muri (A Cave Story Mod)

Old topic!
The last post in this thread is over 60 days old. Posting in this thread will be considered a bump, so please make an attempt to be courteous if you go ahead with it.

If the last post is over 6 months old, it may instead be a better idea to start a new topic. If you aren't sure about what to do, feel free to ask a staff member for help, or try to locate a 'general questions'-type thread if it exists in this (sub-)forum.
Jan 31, 2016 at 4:50 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Dec 2, 2015
Location:
Posts: 208
Age: 21
I actually mentioned this a few times before... but you never really gave me an answer.

I'm pretty proficient at TSC scripting, so if you need any help with that, and/or want someone to look over your script, i'd be glad to help.

But if you don't need my help I understand. It's just that, one of the issues you seemed to have, was the scripting (especially when it came to text).
 
Jan 31, 2016 at 5:11 PM
Part-Time Perfectionist
CS Beta Content Discord Admin
"Bleep, Bloop, Bleep, Bloop"
Join Date: Dec 26, 2014
Location: the back of their own hand.
Posts: 1599
Age: 120
I actually mentioned this a few times before... but you never really gave me an answer.

I'm pretty proficient at TSC scripting, so if you need any help with that, and/or want someone to look over your script, i'd be glad to help.

But if you don't need my help I understand. It's just that, one of the issues you seemed to have, was the scripting (especially when it came to text).
I'm rather proficient with TSC also, if a little rusty at the moment.
The issues we're mostly to do with Paths editing certain things and not testing to see if they work, something which I always do.
If you change something and don't check to see if it works then it most certainly won't work.

Right now I need testers more than anything, people who will try their hardest to break the game (and spot minor spelling errors) before I release it so that there aren't any more issues with it.
I would love @SeasonsOfDestiny and @Brayconn's help with beta testing, since they both seem to be good at finding flaws and things that need improving.
 
Jan 31, 2016 at 5:42 PM
Part-Time Perfectionist
CS Beta Content Discord Admin
"Bleep, Bloop, Bleep, Bloop"
Join Date: Dec 26, 2014
Location: the back of their own hand.
Posts: 1599
Age: 120
Well it never hurts to have another person do a once-over on the script.

Just a question... but do you do assembly?
a 100
mov, ah 09
mov dx, 120
int 21
mov ah, 09
mov dx, 140
int 21
mov ah, 08
int 21
int 20

a 120
db "No, I don't$"

a 140
db 'Press any key to continue . . .$'

rcx
180
n post_342.com
w
q
 
Jan 31, 2016 at 6:09 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Dec 2, 2015
Location:
Posts: 208
Age: 21
I not sure those are valid registers man...
ya forgot to add the dword.
That codes not really gonna do anything if you don't put it in an offset.
Stop trying to int 21, that won't do you any good.
I'm pressing all the keys man, but nothings happening.
I mean... at least you know how to put numbers into registers...
 
Jan 31, 2016 at 6:53 PM
Part-Time Perfectionist
CS Beta Content Discord Admin
"Bleep, Bloop, Bleep, Bloop"
Join Date: Dec 26, 2014
Location: the back of their own hand.
Posts: 1599
Age: 120
I not sure those are valid registers man...
ya forgot to add the dword.
That codes not really gonna do anything if you don't put it in an offset.
Stop trying to int 21, that won't do you any good.
I'm pressing all the keys man, but nothings happening.
I mean... at least you know how to put numbers into registers...
Hang on a second -- did you actually just paste that assembly code into a debugger?
Anyway, I made a version that actually works.
Code:
a 100
mov ah, 09
mov dx, 120
int 21
mov ah, 09
mov dx, 140
int 21
mov ah, 08
int 21
int 20

a 120
db "No, I don't$"

a 140
db 0D, 0A, 'Press any key to continue . . .$'

rcx
200
n post_342.com
w
q
Either way, the answer was no, I don't really do assembly.
The main reason being that I haven't really been able to find a good tutorial on it.
How'd you learn assembly?
 
Jan 31, 2016 at 7:21 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Dec 2, 2015
Location:
Posts: 208
Age: 21
I read Carrotlord's assembly guide. (Found in the moding/hacking tutorials)

In all honesty it helped me UNDERSTAND assembly a lot better. But it didn't really help me out on HOW I could make my own custom hacks.

So do you plan on using any custom hacks for your mod then?

YOUR STILL MISSIN THAT OFFSET MAN. IF YA DON'T SPECIFY THE OFFSET, THEN THE GAME DOSEN'T KNOW WHAT AREA YOU WANT YOUR CODE IN AND WHAT YOU WANT TO CHANGE.
 
Last edited:
Feb 1, 2016 at 5:09 AM
Part-Time Perfectionist
CS Beta Content Discord Admin
"Bleep, Bloop, Bleep, Bloop"
Join Date: Dec 26, 2014
Location: the back of their own hand.
Posts: 1599
Age: 120
I read Carrotlord's assembly guide. (Found in the moding/hacking tutorials)

In all honesty it helped me UNDERSTAND assembly a lot better. But it didn't really help me out on HOW I could make my own custom hacks.

So do you plan on using any custom hacks for your mod then?
I want to program in assembly independent of Cave Story.
Putting my own custom hacks into Cave Story at this point seems like a bit of a pipe dream.

YOUR STILL MISSIN THAT OFFSET MAN. IF YA DON'T SPECIFY THE OFFSET, THEN THE GAME DOSEN'T KNOW WHAT AREA YOU WANT YOUR CODE IN AND WHAT YOU WANT TO CHANGE.
a 100 is the offset, if that's what you're talking about?
Are you trying to use ollydbg to assemble the code? It's designed to be put into the CMD Debugger.
You make a .asm file with the code in it and then put "debug < [filename].asm" into the command line, is that what you we're doing?
 
Feb 1, 2016 at 9:38 AM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Dec 2, 2015
Location:
Posts: 208
Age: 21
I want to program in assembly independent of Cave Story.
Putting my own custom hacks into Cave Story at this point seems like a bit of a pipe dream.

a 100 is the offset, if that's what you're talking about?
Are you trying to use ollydbg to assemble the code? It's designed to be put into the CMD Debugger.
You make a .asm file with the code in it and then put "debug < [filename].asm" into the command line, is that what you we're doing?
Sorry, was making a joke outta that one too(what's this CMD Debugger?).

Anyways, what I MEANT to ask, is if your going to use other people's hacks in your mod(like <MIM, <IMG, 60fps, ect).
 
Feb 1, 2016 at 12:47 PM
Part-Time Perfectionist
CS Beta Content Discord Admin
"Bleep, Bloop, Bleep, Bloop"
Join Date: Dec 26, 2014
Location: the back of their own hand.
Posts: 1599
Age: 120
Sorry, was making a joke outta that one too(what's this CMD Debugger?).

Anyways, what I MEANT to ask, is if your going to use other people's hacks in your mod(like <MIM, <IMG, 60fps, ect).
Type "debug" into CMD (I believe it only works on 32bit computers) and it lets you type in assembly code.
You enter a position (a 100), your commands, and then press enter with a blank line to enter another position.
That's an awful explanation of it, but the best I can do without just linking to some tutorial of it.

I'm already using other people's hacks.
N.E.T. Story v1.x already has the <TIMG hack
N.E.T. Story II already has the <MIM hack, the <ML+ hack, the <TIMG Hack. (Although it doesn't work, likely because some of the MIM hack's code over-wrote it.)
 
Top