Mod Promotion

Nov 2, 2012 at 7:30 AM
A Reluctant Balrog's Waifu
"Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-BLEIUP"
Hi forums. I haven't been around much lately because I am studying/I am a bad friend and I feel like a poo head for it.

So, the topic of conversation: Today, Tumblr discovered King's Story and collectively flipped their lids. At this point, I realized that there's a huge segment of the fandom that is unaware of the existence of Cave Story mods. I would like to change that.

I am compiling a Tumblr masterpost of ten "must play" Cave Story mods. I will briefly summarize each one, discuss it's difficulty level and how complete it is. DT's thread is already a huge help in this regard.

More precisely, forum, what would you consider as the ten best/'must play' mods? What mods would you recommend to someone who's just finished/discovered Cave Story and wants more?

At the moment, I'm definitely going to promote and discuss:

King's Story
Cave Story Redesign
WTF Story
Jenka's Nightmare

Nov 2, 2012 at 9:43 AM

I'm not even sure why you'd ask that, to be honest.

But I think that if I put time and effort into creating a mod, I would want as many people to see, play and enjoy it as possible. If the creators of these mods made them for their own personal use or for their personal circles, why are they freely available to download from these forums? In essence, I am assuming that the creators of mods generally create those mods to be played and enjoyed by the world at large/by a wide audience. I am therefore assuming that publicity is a desirable thing.

Like... Without intending this as a personal attack, I honestly can't process your logic, we must be on two entirely different pages. If I write a book, what happens: do I keep it to myself, or do I try to get as many people interested in it as possible? If I love and admire a creation by someone else, why is it surprising that I want to get others to appreciate it as well?