Ikachan In-game Editor

Old topic!
The last post in this thread is over 60 days old. Posting in this thread will be considered a bump, so please make an attempt to be courteous if you go ahead with it.

If the last post is over 6 months old, it may instead be a better idea to start a new topic. If you aren't sure about what to do, feel free to ask a staff member for help, or try to locate a 'general questions'-type thread if it exists in this (sub-)forum.
Jun 20, 2007 at 6:51 PM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Jun 20, 2007
Location:
Posts: 4

Conspiracy? I think not.

How to access it, is to hold S while choosing NewGame. Or load your Saved Game position by doing the same, but while choosing LoadGame.

How to control :
Mouse or Arrow Keys - Move Cursor
Left Click - Create Object / Change Box Flag Up
Right Click - Delete Object / Change Box Flag Down
Z/S - Save

The HUD (Click on the boxes to change flags) :
NO - ID Number of the object in use [0 - 99]
CH - Sprite Set/Behavior [0 - 9]
X and Y - Current Coordinates of said object
SW - Object's Existance [0 - 1]
EV - Event [0 - 255]
TY - Type Flag [Block, Enemy, Event, Null]
COL -

Notes :
- To change the sprites of a certain sprite set, when placing an object with the left click, drag the cursor right or down.
- This editor has only seemed to edit objects, as of yet.
- Events seem to also take the direction of TSC. Edit Event.ptx to discover more about Ikachan TSC.
- You can also edit the Credits and the Beginning New Game Instructions, by editing Staff.pxt and Words.pxt


All I know of, as of now.
 
Jun 20, 2007 at 11:54 PM
Starbound sucked sadly
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 7, 2007
Location:
Posts: 2587
Age: 31
Pepe said:

Conspiracy? I think not.
Apparently, I haven't seen a topic like this. I'll probably look stupid if there is.

How to access it, is to hold S while choosing NewGame. Or load your Saved Game position by doing the same, but while choosing LoadGame.

How to control :
Mouse or Arrow Keys - Move Cursor
Left Click - Create Object / Change Box Flag Up
Right Click - Delete Object / Change Box Flag Down
Z/S - Save

The HUD (Click on the boxes to change flags) :
NO - ID Number of the object in use
CH - Sprite Set/Behavior
X and Y - Current Coordinates of said object
SW - Does that object exist? (unsure)
EV - Event? (unsure)
TY - Type Flag [Block, Enemy, etc.]
COL - Unknown

Notes :
- To change the sprites of a certain sprite set, when placing an object with the left click, drag the cursor right or down.
- This editor has only seemed to edit objects, as of yet.


All I know of, as of now.
Does it tell you anywhere in the game? :rolleyes: :p
 
Jun 20, 2007 at 11:57 PM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Jun 20, 2007
Location:
Posts: 4
I stumbled upon it.
With skillz.
 
Jun 21, 2007 at 12:40 PM
Hoxtilicious
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Dec 30, 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3218
Age: 29
LOL now I don't need to make one, but I was sure there was one in the .exe because of the 'Editor.pbm' file... Now I know and I'm ready to make a mod!! :rolleyes:
 
Jun 22, 2007 at 1:17 AM
Starbound sucked sadly
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 7, 2007
Location:
Posts: 2587
Age: 31
S. P. Gardebiter said:
LOL now I don't need to make one, but I was sure there was one in the .exe because of the 'Editor.pbm' file... Now I know and I'm ready to make a mod!! :rolleyes:
lol you sound excited :p
 
Jun 22, 2007 at 11:08 AM
Hoxtilicious
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Dec 30, 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3218
Age: 29
xristosx said:
lol you sound excited :rolleyes:
Sure I am, but there must be a edit function for blocks...
If it isn't there I have to make myself a editor lol...
Im only good at NES Assembler, but I think it would be a challenge to make something in DOS Assembler, the only prob is to load files and save files, its not too easy...
 
Jun 22, 2007 at 5:19 PM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Jun 20, 2007
Location:
Posts: 4
Editing the tiles will be simple. It's an 256-bit image called Map1.pbm in the PBM folder.
 
Jun 22, 2007 at 10:26 PM
Hoxtilicious
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Dec 30, 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3218
Age: 29
I never tought editing the pbm will cause to edit the map itself :x INSANE! :rolleyes:
 
Jun 23, 2007 at 12:38 AM
Starbound sucked sadly
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jan 7, 2007
Location:
Posts: 2587
Age: 31
S. P. Gardebiter said:
I never tought editing the pbm will cause to edit the map itself :x INSANE! :rolleyes:
lol :p
then the game can be made longer than 30 mins :D
 
Jun 23, 2007 at 11:41 AM
Hoxtilicious
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Dec 30, 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3218
Age: 29
xristosx said:
lol :rolleyes:
then the game can be made longer than 30 mins :p
Well, you only can have 99 objects :/
And the placing won't work with resizing the map...
 
Jun 28, 2007 at 1:25 PM
Hoxtilicious
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Dec 30, 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3218
Age: 29
Found out about the Map1.pbm, this might be helpful:

 
Jul 23, 2009 at 4:40 PM
Senior Member
"Wahoo! Upgrade!"
Join Date: Mar 16, 2008
Location:
Posts: 56
are there no body there has made a ikachan mod?

i could be fun ;D
 
Jul 23, 2009 at 7:48 PM
This Troper
"Man, if only I had an apple..."
Join Date: Jun 19, 2008
Location: Arcane Sanctuary
Posts: 1472
Age: 31
marcoaslak said:
are there no body there has made a ikachan mod?

i could be fun ;D
If I were to guess, I'd say it's probably because Cave Story is superior to Ikachan in all aspects, and therefore much more moddable, even without an in-built level editor.
 
Jul 23, 2009 at 8:27 PM
Level 73 Procrastinator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Apr 6, 2009
Location: Forgotten Tower
Posts: 2052
Rumor

Dragonboots once said something about secretly making an Ikachan mod....
 
Jul 23, 2009 at 8:31 PM
Been here way too long...
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Apr 19, 2009
Location:
Posts: 3788
Age: 14
You're not very good at keeping secrets, Lowell. Maybe he's still working on it secretly and you just blew his cover wide open. It was going to be a nice surprise and you ruined it.
I'm joking. No one would ever make a mod for Ikachan.
 
Jul 23, 2009 at 8:49 PM
This Troper
"Man, if only I had an apple..."
Join Date: Jun 19, 2008
Location: Arcane Sanctuary
Posts: 1472
Age: 31
If you ever wanted to see any Ikachan mod, you would have to invent a time machine, go back to year 2001 and kill Mr. Daisuke Amaya, and you can be sure that if you ever tried to do that, I would be after your sorry ass 'till the end of time. So yeah, no Ikachan mods for you.
 
Jul 23, 2009 at 11:23 PM
Cold Agony of Resolute Vacuum
"Heavy swords for sale. Suitable for most RPG Protagonists. Apply now!"
Join Date: Jan 1, 2008
Location: Elsewhere
Posts: 1973
I was. o.o
And I am.
But, uh, yeah.
To edit the block on the map, edit Map1.pbm in the PBM folder.
Each pixel is one block, the color determines the tile type.
 
Jul 23, 2009 at 11:33 PM
In front of a computer
"Man, if only I had an apple..."
Join Date: Mar 1, 2008
Location: Grasstown
Posts: 1435
Um... I don't see any reason not to make an Ikachan mod. It'd be quite different from a Cave Story mod, because it has different physics.
 
Top