Ikachan HD (Full Release)

Dec 30, 2019 at 3:54 AM
Junior Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Jun 9, 2018
Location:
Posts: 19
FINAL TITLE.png

An unofficial remake for Studio Pixel's Ikachan.

You are a squid who wakes up in an underwater cave, and as you explore you find a community of urchins cut off from the rest of the open sea caused
by destructive earthquakes! Everyone must carry a pearl around to signify their obedience to Ironhead, a paranoid Shark who rules over the cavernous realm.
The food supply is dwindling, and the earthquakes are getting stronger!


This project features hand drawn backgrounds and characters, completely remade soundtrack, smooth 60 FPS gameplay, and a fully animated cinematic.



SCREENSHOTS
Gamejolt Screenshots0001.pngGamejolt Screenshots0002.pngGamejolt Screenshots0003.pngGamejolt Screenshots0004.pngGamejolt Screenshots0005.pngGamejolt Screenshots0009.pngGamejolt Screenshots0010.pngGamejolt Screenshots0008.pngGamejolt Screenshots0007.png

SOUNDTRACK
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLojEi0Imsy8aPpX2WJExmdccTxhvANb07



DOWNLOAD HERE
(You can also play the original game)



Support / Thanks:

GIRakaCHEEZER
metallicLurker
Bionicobot
Ewan Green
MaxSpec
Serri
CSMC

Studio Pixel


Check out GIRakaCHEEZER's soundcloud:
https://soundcloud.com/girakacheezer
 
Last edited:
Dec 30, 2019 at 4:28 AM
Best cow
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2444
Age: 25
If only I know what this post is trying to say...


More of us use dark themes than we use lighter themes, fyi.
 
Dec 30, 2019 at 5:11 AM
Soup Man
"In Soviet Russia, graves keep YOU!"
Join Date: Jul 15, 2014
Location: IN YOUR HEAD, SHIT FOR BRAINS
Posts: 670
Age: 3
Wow this looks incredible! I've seen some screenshots you've posted before, but this looks even better than I was expecting.

If only I know what this post is trying to say...


More of us use dark themes than we use lighter themes, fyi.
switch to gameflaws you nerd, both black and white text show up correctly.
 
Dec 30, 2019 at 5:58 AM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Sep 1, 2018
Location: A Spooky Cave
Posts: 7
Age: 17
this is some fantastic work, really love what you've done!
 
Dec 30, 2019 at 9:23 AM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Mar 25, 2019
Location:
Posts: 200
What? A remake of the soundtrack as well?
SOLD.
 
Dec 30, 2019 at 1:01 PM
Senior Member
"Master using it, and you can have this!"
Join Date: Sep 23, 2019
Location: Vresun Ciraian Ruins
Posts: 88
Oh my, this looks absolutely promising. I really like the hand drawn animation screenshots, they're just so high quality.
 
Dec 31, 2019 at 1:54 PM
Administrator
Forum Administrator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jul 15, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 6175
Age: 34
Error encountered:


I am using Windows 7.
 
Jan 1, 2020 at 2:33 AM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Jul 11, 2018
Location: Podunk, EL
Posts: 5
Age: 16
cant wait to check this out, i loooove ikachan~
 
Jan 1, 2020 at 3:22 AM
Everything you hate about humanity
"Big Joe Tire and Battery Restaurant! Opening Soon! Eat at Big Joes!"
Join Date: Sep 22, 2012
Location: Hell
Posts: 510
Started playing, got stuck in a corner, I think you're using Game Maker so here's my advice:
DO NOT USE HSPEED / VSPEED / GRAVITY

Make your own variables called hspd, vspd, and grav (or hsp,vsp, and grav)

Add in special code for all of these that looks like this:

if place_meeting(x+hspd,y,obj_solid) { hspd = 0; } else { x += hspd; }

Do this for both hspd and vspd, tl;dr built in collision in GM sucks dragon dick
 
Jan 1, 2020 at 11:57 PM
Administrator
Forum Administrator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jul 15, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 6175
Age: 34
Oh geez, sorry. I think one of the game extensions only works for Windows 8 and above
So is there no way to get it working in Windows 7?
 
Jan 2, 2020 at 2:38 AM
Junior Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Jun 9, 2018
Location:
Posts: 19
So is there no way to get it working in Windows 7?
At the moment, no (unless the extension dev releases an update, or until GMS2 supports video playing functionality)
 
Jan 2, 2020 at 7:20 AM
Administrator
Forum Administrator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jul 15, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 6175
Age: 34
At the moment, no (unless the extension dev releases an update, or until GMS2 supports video playing functionality)
What's the extension called?
 
Mar 25, 2020 at 12:54 AM
Junior Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Jun 9, 2018
Location:
Posts: 19
UPDATE: Mac / Windows 7 ports are now available.
 
Mar 25, 2020 at 7:38 AM
Senior Member
"Wahoo! Upgrade!"
Join Date: May 31, 2018
Location: under your bed ;)
Posts: 58
yessss

edit: nooooo
Screen Shot 2020-03-25 at 7.01.31 pm.png
(i tried downloading it twice, with the same result. i'm running high sierra 10.13.6, if that's an issue?)
 
Last edited:
Mar 25, 2020 at 7:17 PM
Junior Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Jun 9, 2018
Location:
Posts: 19
yessss

edit: nooooo
View attachment 6549
(i tried downloading it twice, with the same result. i'm running high sierra 10.13.6, if that's an issue?)
Alright, so after repackaging the contents and moving things around, I found out that Apple had put restrictions on non-Appstore applications from Sierra upwards.


Here's what worked for me:
(Download the newest version first)

1. Make sure that the app is either on Desktop, or anywhere not in Downloads

2. If it still fails to run, open terminal and disable Gatekeeper using "sudo spctl --master-disable" and input your password.
(or follow the steps here: https://osxdaily.com/2016/09/27/allow-apps-from-anywhere-macos-gatekeeper/)

3. Open Preferences > Security & Privacy

4. Under the General tab, check 'Anywhere' under 'Allow apps downloaded from:'

5. Reopen it.
 
Last edited:
Mar 26, 2020 at 12:31 AM
Senior Member
"Wahoo! Upgrade!"
Join Date: May 31, 2018
Location: under your bed ;)
Posts: 58
hmm, disabling the thing got it to launch, but uh

i guess it's progress?
 
Mar 26, 2020 at 2:14 AM
Junior Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Jun 9, 2018
Location:
Posts: 19
Bingo!

In Terminal, run:
xattr -d com.apple.quarantine Ikachan\ HD.app/
(this should be ran in the same directory as the application)

I'll probably put in a bash script to automatically run everything.
 
Apr 3, 2020 at 5:31 AM
Senior Member
"I, Ikachan. The Life and Documentary of the OrigiNAL SQuiD."
Join Date: Jul 6, 2019
Location: Waiting for the food to be fixed
Posts: 187
well I enjoyed this, it's very nice, I haven't played the original Ikachan, so this is my first time playing it.
 
Top