First time playing, doesn't launch

Old topic!
The last post in this thread is over 60 days old. Posting in this thread will be considered a bump, so please make an attempt to be courteous if you go ahead with it.

If the last post is over 6 months old, it may instead be a better idea to start a new topic. If you aren't sure about what to do, feel free to ask a staff member for help, or try to locate a 'general questions'-type thread if it exists in this (sub-)forum.
Jan 16, 2014 at 1:49 AM
Novice Member
"Officially Worth 1 Rupee"
Join Date: Jan 16, 2014
Location:
Posts: 1
Hi. I've recently downloaded Cave Story and patched it to English, but whenever I try to launch the game, all I get is a small window with strange symbols on it, then a button that reads "OK". Everything else on my screen goes black, including my cursor. I have to guess where it is and then attempt to click OK. once I do that my desktop, cursor, etc, I can see again. What do I do from here?
 
Jan 16, 2014 at 2:04 AM
Big Floppa
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2477
Age: 25
Is it still in its home folder with this stuff in it (Doukutsu is the game itself)?

Here's how it looks like.
 
Jan 16, 2014 at 2:08 AM
Junior Member
"It's dangerous to go alone!"
Join Date: Dec 7, 2013
Location:
Posts: 35
Age: 21
Have you tried switching to windowed? Not sure if that'll fix the problem but at least your screen won't go black. Also, you know you can simply press the spacebar or enter to hit ok, whenever a screen pops up.
 
Jan 16, 2014 at 6:48 AM
Administrator
Forum Administrator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jul 15, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 6175
Age: 34
Do any of the parent folders of your copy of CS contain foreign or non-ascii characters in their names? If so then that might be the cause of your problem. Alternatively did you by any chance re-patch the pre-patched copy rather than the Japanese copy of the game? For that matter try the pre-patched copy and see if that works for you.
 
Jan 17, 2014 at 1:17 AM
Senior Member
"I, Ikachan. The Life and Documentary of the OrigiNAL SQuiD."
Join Date: Jan 2, 2013
Location: Wright and Co. Law Offices
Posts: 179
Age: 120
It's going to be difficult diagnosing the issue with limited information on the topic. I'll just assume you ran the English translation on a fresh copy from this very website, and your game unexpectedly crashed. This may be caused by not unzipping the .zip that it came packaged in.

Edit: The game indeed doesn't run without being unzipped.
 
Jan 19, 2014 at 1:29 AM
Administrator
Forum Administrator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jul 15, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 6175
Age: 34
ChimeApple said:
The game indeed doesn't run without being unzipped.
Of course not. Only standalone executables can be run in this fashion.
 
Top