• Most people probably don't realise this, but this forum has had two editors for a number of years. One is the xenForo default editor, and the other is a custom editor I made years back I called BBCEd.

    All the settings for which editor you use was lost during the upgrade. You can find the setting under Account Settings > Preferences > Editor.

did something to the .org files. can this affect the game music?

Old topic!
The last post in this thread is over 60 days old. Posting in this thread will be considered a bump, so please make an attempt to be courteous if you go ahead with it.

If the last post is over 6 months old, it may instead be a better idea to start a new topic. If you aren't sure about what to do, feel free to ask a staff member for help, or try to locate a 'general questions'-type thread if it exists in this (sub-)forum.
Apr 5, 2019 at 1:11 AM
Junior Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Apr 5, 2019
Location:
Posts: 10
#1
I dont know anything about how PC game music works, first of all
so i was messing around with some of the Cave Story+ files (looking at the sprites, etc.) when i decided "what if i opened the .org files with audacity?", and now the regular Blank Page icon used for unknown files in Windows 10 has been replaced with Audacity and whenever i try to open it it opens audacity. can this affect the game music itself?
 
Apr 5, 2019 at 1:29 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 6000
#2
no
 
Apr 5, 2019 at 2:02 AM
Best elf
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location: Cygnus
Posts: 2105
Age: 24
#3
I mean, if you really want this tidbit to be gone, install Foobar2000, download the Organya plugin, and then set the default program on the org files to Foobar. That'd also mean you'll have another program to play the files (as long as they use Org v134 instruments)
 
Last edited:
Apr 5, 2019 at 2:53 AM
Junior Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Apr 5, 2019
Location:
Posts: 10
#4
ok


I mean, if you really want this tidbit to be gone, install Foobar2000, download the Organya plugin, and then set the default program on the org files to Foobar. That'd also mean you'll have another program to play the files (as long as they use Org v134 instruments)
how do i set the .org programs to open with foobar2000? im on windows 10
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Apr 7, 2019 at 10:57 PM
Best elf
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location: Cygnus
Posts: 2105
Age: 24
#5
Right click > Open with... > Choose Default Program
Foobar should be there, if not, you can just browse for it in C > Program Files (x86) through the same window.
 
Apr 7, 2019 at 11:22 PM
Junior Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Apr 5, 2019
Location:
Posts: 10
#6
ok thanks

tried this. had to get the program from my desktop, but whenever i tried it it always said "Catastrophic Failure. foobar2000"
 
Apr 8, 2019 at 12:25 AM
Best elf
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location: Cygnus
Posts: 2105
Age: 24
#7
had to get the program from my desktop
But that's just the shortcut to the program. C > Program Files (x86) > Foobar2000 is where you wanna go.
 
Apr 8, 2019 at 1:01 AM
Junior Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Apr 5, 2019
Location:
Posts: 10
#8
it isnt in the program files. i got foobar2000 from the microsoft store, so that may be why. i can try to find where those programs are stored and see if that works

alright had to uninstall it and download foobar from the official website. hopefully this works. thanks
 
Apr 8, 2019 at 1:28 AM
Monster girl enthusiest
"Keep on rollin'!"
Join Date: Sep 22, 2012
Location: Hugging a tentacle monster
Posts: 440
#9
Installing Fooba2k's components should literally only require you to click on said component. It should have created a file association unless you're using your parent's computer and don't have admin privileges. Foobar2000's org addon was pretty out of date last time I checked, with no support for the Organya 2 drums. So if your song has the non original drums, it'll crash upon being played.
 
Apr 8, 2019 at 1:55 AM
Junior Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Apr 5, 2019
Location:
Posts: 10
#10
its ok. i got everything working fine
 
Top