CSMD ported to 3DS

Old topic!
The last post in this thread is over 60 days old. Posting in this thread will be considered a bump, so please make an attempt to be courteous if you go ahead with it.

If the last post is over 6 months old, it may instead be a better idea to start a new topic. If you aren't sure about what to do, feel free to ask a staff member for help, or try to locate a 'general questions'-type thread if it exists in this (sub-)forum.
Jul 23, 2018 at 10:02 PM
Neophyte Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Jul 11, 2018
Location: Podunk, EL
Posts: 5
Age: 17
I know its not really that big of a deal, you get a genesis emulator and put CSMD on it, but I thought it'd be interesting to bring up that i ported the mega drive version of cave story to my 3DS.
 
Jul 23, 2018 at 10:19 PM
Senior Member
CSE Discord Admin
"Fly, Fly, Fly!"
Join Date: Jan 13, 2016
Location:
Posts: 132
"Ported"? You mean 'emulated'.
 
Jul 24, 2018 at 2:20 AM
The TideWalker
Modding Community Discord Founder
"That dog!"
Join Date: Apr 5, 2013
Location: In my mind and of my body.
Posts: 1637
Age: 23
There's no reason you can't legally play ROM remakes of freeware games on any form of hardware using any type of software.

I mean running an emulator on a 3Ds let alone the setup to do so is certianly a violation of nintendo's ToS but very few people care about that as I've seen more modded than vanilla wiis personally.
 
Jul 25, 2018 at 3:19 AM
It Really Do Be Like That Sometimes
"Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-Wacka-BLEIUP"
Join Date: Aug 10, 2017
Location: Blood Stained Sanctuary
Posts: 300
Age: 17
Like seriously CSMD is incomplete, looks worse, and a CS port (2, actually) is already on the 3ds. Yes, anything you can shove a genesis emulator on you can play CSMD. However, most platforms that this would benefit already have a CS port, or can run a better version (like NXengine or the psp port) so I don’t really see a point to this.
 
Last edited:
Jul 25, 2018 at 3:32 PM
Senior Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: Jul 12, 2017
Location:
Posts: 191
Age: 17
So what's the point of a MD port?
Either way, you can just run it in PicoDrive :/
So its not PORT, really.
Like what others have said, NXEngine and NICALiS ports already exist.
 
Top