Converting vanilla mod to PSP. HELP ME! *SOBS*

Dec 7, 2011 at 10:33 AM
"Huzzah!"
I'm working on a Cave Story mod called Chocolate Sunday. I'm kinda new to CS modding, but I've quickly got the hang of Sue's workshop. (0.3A)

My mod has no fancy tricks. It's a script-heavy level mod using existing content.

How do I convert this mod to PSP format? I really want to be able to do the bulk of my testing after hours, kicking back, so to speak. I've managed to get CSZ converter working, but am at a loss when it comes to creating a .PBP file which will work. (Cut-pasting Cave Story PSP crashed the console.)

NB: the project file has 95 maps. I understand this is a problem? I could easily recreate the offending map at an earlier number, because I've started map replacing already, (mod only has five maps so far) but have I possibly damaged the offsets?

Look, I'm just asking for advice. I'd feel much better even knowing if my mod will be portable when it's finished.

EDIT:

I'm terribly sorry for posting this in the wrong forum. Opera Mini was misbehaving. My deepest apologies.

Dec 7, 2011 at 12:25 PM
Administrator
Forum Administrator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
You need to copy the mapdata in Doukutsu.exe to data/maps.dat and eboot.pbp via a hex editor. Well I actually have a tool around here somewhere...

Here you go:
http://cavestory.org/downloads/inspsp.zip

Run this in the same folder as your maps.dat file and an unedited CS PSP EBOOT.PBP to inject the mapdata into EBOOT.PBP.

Extracting mapdata from Doukutsu.exe you'll have to do manually for now since your current mapdata can be stored in a different place depending on what editor you used. I'll see if I can throw together a tool for extracting the data when I have the time.

You should also note that your maps.dat file must be exactly 19000 bytes in length. Open up your the CS PSP default one to get an idea.