• Most people probably don't realise this, but this forum has had two editors for a number of years. One is the xenForo default editor, and the other is a custom editor I made years back I called BBCEd.

    All the settings for which editor you use was lost during the upgrade. You can find the setting under Account Settings > Preferences > Editor.

Cave Story+ - Wind Fortress Classic?

Old topic!
The last post in this thread is over 60 days old. Posting in this thread will be considered a bump, so please make an attempt to be courteous if you go ahead with it.

If the last post is over 6 months old, it may instead be a better idea to start a new topic. If you aren't sure about what to do, feel free to ask a staff member for help, or try to locate a 'general questions'-type thread if it exists in this (sub-)forum.
Sep 3, 2016 at 6:56 AM
Junior Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Sep 2, 2016
Location:
Posts: 11
#1
I noticed while digging through the files that the Wind Fortress challenge has all the necessary gfx for playing with the retro graphics, yet when the option is selected, it just uses the new ones anyway. I can see why you can't use the original graphics in modes like Curly Story or some of the new challenges, since those use new assets, but what's up with the Wind Fortress? The classic music still plays if that option's selected...
 
Sep 3, 2016 at 7:07 AM
Perfectionist
CS Beta Content Discord Admin
CSE Discord Moderator
"Bleep, Bloop, Bleep, Bloop"
Join Date: Dec 26, 2014
Location: the back of their own hand.
Posts: 1520
Age: 119
#2
I noticed while digging through the files that the Wind Fortress challenge has all the necessary gfx for playing with the retro graphics, yet when the option is selected, it just uses the new ones anyway. I can see why you can't use the original graphics in modes like Curly Story or some of the new challenges, since those use new assets, but what's up with the Wind Fortress? The classic music still plays if that option's selected...
You can't use old graphics in any of the challenges, because it's not programmed into the game, but they put the files in there anyway. But you can use any music you like at any time because it's not re-loaded depending on what mode you're using.
 
Sep 3, 2016 at 7:10 AM
Junior Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Sep 2, 2016
Location:
Posts: 11
#3
You can't use old graphics in any of the challenges, because it's not programmed into the game, but they put the files in there anyway. But you can use any music you like at any time because it's not re-loaded depending on what mode you're using.
Huh, that's...puzzling. Then why leave them in there? I mean, I guess it's another source for modders to pull from.
 
Sep 3, 2016 at 7:11 AM
Perfectionist
CS Beta Content Discord Admin
CSE Discord Moderator
"Bleep, Bloop, Bleep, Bloop"
Join Date: Dec 26, 2014
Location: the back of their own hand.
Posts: 1520
Age: 119
#4
Huh, that's...puzzling. Then why leave them in there? I mean, I guess it's another source for modders to pull from.
Some of the developers may not have known that the game wouldn't work with old graphics, or maybe it's because in one of the ports that uses ONLY retro graphics they used those ones and didn't delete them, but either way we have access now.
 
Sep 3, 2016 at 7:27 AM
Junior Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: Sep 2, 2016
Location:
Posts: 11
#5
Some of the developers may not have known that the game wouldn't work with old graphics, or maybe it's because in one of the ports that uses ONLY retro graphics they used those ones and didn't delete them, but either way we have access now.
Alright, cool. Thanks for the insight.
 
Sep 3, 2016 at 7:30 AM
Administrator
Forum Administrator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jul 15, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 6158
Age: 34
#6
You can play Wind Fortress in the eShop version of CS in the original 1xRes graphics. They are probably left over from that.
 
Sep 3, 2016 at 8:03 AM
Perfectionist
CS Beta Content Discord Admin
CSE Discord Moderator
"Bleep, Bloop, Bleep, Bloop"
Join Date: Dec 26, 2014
Location: the back of their own hand.
Posts: 1520
Age: 119
#7
You can play Wind Fortress in the eShop version of CS in the original 1xRes graphics. They are probably left over from that.
As I said:
--or maybe it's because in one of the ports that uses ONLY retro graphics they used those ones and didn't delete them--
 
Sep 3, 2016 at 9:00 AM
Administrator
Forum Administrator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jul 15, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 6158
Age: 34
#8
I was fully aware of that post before I made mine. You never specified which port, so I felt the need to do so. The eShop version has the only 1xRes port for Wind Fortress, there are no other ports that do this, so I specified that it was the port of likely origin. I was in essence clarifying your post.
 
Last edited:
Oct 2, 2017 at 7:02 PM
It Really Do Be Like That Sometimes
"The Ultimate Sword of Extraordinary Magnitude"
Join Date: Aug 10, 2017
Location: Blood Stained Sanctuary
Posts: 292
Age: 16
#9
Cave story+ on nintendo switch allows you to use classic graphics.
 
Top