Booster's Lab - It's Pretty Good Now

Discussion in 'Modding Discussion' started by Noxid, Jan 15, 2012.

Old topic!
The last post in this thread is over 60 days old. Posting in this thread will be considered a bump, so please make an attempt to be courteous if you go ahead with it.

If the last post is over 6 months old, it may instead be a better idea to start a new topic. If you aren't sure about what to do, feel free to ask a staff member for help, or try to locate a 'general questions'-type thread if it exists in this (sub-)forum.
  1. Mar 30, 2012
    FlyingCritter30
    Junior Member
    "It's dangerous to go alone!"
    Join Date: Mar 29, 2012
    Location:
    Posts: 36
    ._.

    lol

    I was using Cave Story Deluxe. XD
     
  2. Mar 30, 2012
    Slither
    Slither Online
    Professional Whatever
    "Life begins and ends with Nu."
    Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
    Location: Lasagna
    Posts: 4491
    I would suggest if you're using CS deluxe then you should set the destination to a folder in your documents folder or something. You could also cut/paste it out of the program files.

    And yeah how about the subscription email function actually work properly ):<
     
  3. Mar 30, 2012
    FlyingCritter30
    Junior Member
    "It's dangerous to go alone!"
    Join Date: Mar 29, 2012
    Location:
    Posts: 36
    OK, I'll try that then. I don't do this kind of stuff a lot, so I'm not very good at it. sorry
     
  4. Mar 30, 2012
    Slither
    Slither Online
    Professional Whatever
    "Life begins and ends with Nu."
    Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
    Location: Lasagna
    Posts: 4491
    Practice makes perfect, don't get discouraged. I didn't know a bit of modding when I first showed up here.

    And goddammit subscription function WORK
     
  5. Apr 23, 2012
    DimJim
    Senior Member
    "I, Ikachan. The Life and Documentary of the OrigiNAL SQuiD."
    Join Date: Mar 14, 2008
    Location:
    Posts: 189
    decided to start using this, after i figured out how to open maps in the editor i wound up with this
    [​IMG]
    i don't know if the sprites are supposed to do that but i'm pretty sure they're not
    running at 2x because 1x is tiny
    the tileset picking thing is also only showing the tiles that appear before i scroll or scale the window, the rest are gray and i have to guess what tile they are

    these were probably already reported but there's no "known issues" thing, so
     
  6. Apr 23, 2012
    Noxid
    Noxid Online
    In my body, in my head
    "Life begins and ends with Nu."
    Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
    Location: The Purple Zone
    Posts: 5941
    disclaimer: You probably shouldn't really try to use this to actually make something yet because it's pre-alpha, suggesting it isn't even fully functional at the moment really

    The tiny sprites have been fixed in dev (just forgot to scale something) but I was not aware of the tileset having that problem. Can you show me what it looks like? And is this happening to other people?
     
  7. Apr 24, 2012
    DimJim
    Senior Member
    "I, Ikachan. The Life and Documentary of the OrigiNAL SQuiD."
    Join Date: Mar 14, 2008
    Location:
    Posts: 189
    here's an image, using core tileset because i think it's easy to see what's going on in that one
    [​IMG]
    i expanded the tileset to make the gray stuff going on more obvious
    what i did was select a bunch of the tiles from the gray, showing that i can still use the tiles, but they don't show up in the tile selector
    don't know if it changes anything, but i'm running it through a .bat file because running the jar directly didn't let me open maps

    trying to make something with this is probably stupid but, hey, i wouldn't have found this out if i didn't try
     
  8. May 1, 2012
    Mosaic
    Senior Member
    "I, Ikachan. The Life and Documentary of the OrigiNAL SQuiD."
    Join Date: Apr 23, 2012
    Location: United States
    Posts: 161
    So my machine is both a dinosaur (6 years old or so) and a mac. It seems like the most current version of Java that I can run is Java 5 (ack!) My guess is BL needs SE 6 or 7? That would explain why I can't get it to work.
     
  9. May 1, 2012
    Noxid
    Noxid Online
    In my body, in my head
    "Life begins and ends with Nu."
    Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
    Location: The Purple Zone
    Posts: 5941
    Yeah, I have been using Java 1.6 to develop this. I might be able to port it down to compatibility with 5, but I dunno how much work that'd be. 4 or earlier is probably just not feasible.

    6 is the version whose quirks I am most familiar with though so until it's stable that is going to be the minimum version requirement I'm afraid.

    also I haven't really put much effort into reading mac mapdata because I dont' know how macs work
     
  10. May 1, 2012
    Mosaic
    Senior Member
    "I, Ikachan. The Life and Documentary of the OrigiNAL SQuiD."
    Join Date: Apr 23, 2012
    Location: United States
    Posts: 161
    That's totally understandable. Just yesterday I finally got around to running CE under Wineskin and that was exciting (Noxid, your tutorial videos are handy, by the way) even though I couldn't get Wineskin to run the edited Doukutsu app, but I still hadn't gotten BL to work. I just did some digging around about Java and was sad to find that my version is horribly out of date since my computer is old.

    While the backwards compatibility would be nice for folks like me, it's probably much more important to move forward in the development process rather than figure out how to accommodate us people who really need to upgrade/get a new machine anyway. And making Booster's Lab backward compatible would probably also reduce its capabilities, no?

    I'd love to learn how macs work since I use one. If I ever do, I'll let you know; I'd be happy to help make the CS world more accessible to mac people (like what Andwhy has done with mods). I'd love to learn how PCs work, too, since I use those a bit, also. Can you tell I'm not the most programming savvy person out there? [/rabbittrail]
     
  11. May 2, 2012
    Noxid
    Noxid Online
    In my body, in my head
    "Life begins and ends with Nu."
    Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
    Location: The Purple Zone
    Posts: 5941
    Backwards compatibility for 1.5 at least probably wouldn't reduce the potential amount of things I could do - it would basically just be a larger time investment to make progress in one direction. Heck, I am planning on mac compatibility for 1.6 and that's going to probably take some work to remedy my windows-centric programming practices.

    Anyway, new version. Changes and link going into OP as soon as I remember what they are.
     
  12. May 3, 2012
    FlyingCritter30
    Junior Member
    "It's dangerous to go alone!"
    Join Date: Mar 29, 2012
    Location:
    Posts: 36
    When do you think you'll add entities? Just wondering...
     
  13. May 3, 2012
    trickybilly
    Hyperbolic
    "What're YOU lookin' at?"
    Join Date: Jul 10, 2009
    Location:
    Posts: 1004
    Age: 33
    Judging the version number the editor is only approximately 4% done? Or version numbers are given more deliberately?
     
  14. May 3, 2012
    FlyingCritter30
    Junior Member
    "It's dangerous to go alone!"
    Join Date: Mar 29, 2012
    Location:
    Posts: 36
    *faceplam*

    Why don't I ever read the version numbers... I feel like an idiot yet again @_@
     
  15. May 3, 2012
    trickybilly
    Hyperbolic
    "What're YOU lookin' at?"
    Join Date: Jul 10, 2009
    Location:
    Posts: 1004
    Age: 33
    Oh, the comment wasn't directed at you m8, I was just joking with Noxid (sort of, maybe it's really 4% done :p )
     
  16. May 3, 2012
    Noxid
    Noxid Online
    In my body, in my head
    "Life begins and ends with Nu."
    Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
    Location: The Purple Zone
    Posts: 5941
    4% sounds about right.

    but no, for serious Entities are my #1 priority in getting functional right now after which I'll focus on improving cross-platform functionality, then stability, then additional features.
    Of course not to say I won't do any of those things out of order or invent new things to do along the way but at least that will be my "goal".
    Also, the way I currently do version numbers is like this:
    first number indicates major release. The only way this gets changed is if I pull a program out of beta / begin a rewrite of the entire thing.
    Second number indicates version. New versions indicate new features or capability. I'll only increment this after 1.0 though.
    Third number indicates minor changes, like improvements to existing features or other enhancements. In early development though it just gets updated whenever I finish a part and upload it.
    Fourth number indicates how many times I've had to reupload it to fix some stupid bug that I should have got during testing and takes more effort to publish than it does to fix.
     
  17. May 31, 2012
    Miniflip_14
    Junior Member
    "Wow! The more I drink of this magical beverage, the more games I can play! Wheee!"
    Join Date: May 19, 2012
    Location: In Minecraft mining diamonds...
    Posts: 20

    Oh god.

    PREPARE FOR THE OFF-TOPICNESS

    Wait...
    Miles_Valentine... Have I seen you playing on a minecraft server before?
    Or am I Drunk? (I am probably and most likely drunk.)

    BACK ON-TOPIC

    Booster, Where's my CS+?
     
  18. May 31, 2012
    Noxid
    Noxid Online
    In my body, in my head
    "Life begins and ends with Nu."
    Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
    Location: The Purple Zone
    Posts: 5941
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\cave story+\data
     
  19. May 31, 2012
    Miniflip_14
    Junior Member
    "Wow! The more I drink of this magical beverage, the more games I can play! Wheee!"
    Join Date: May 19, 2012
    Location: In Minecraft mining diamonds...
    Posts: 20
    Thanks Noxid.

    EDIT:Wait, What do I open?
     
  20. May 31, 2012
    Noxid
    Noxid Online
    In my body, in my head
    "Life begins and ends with Nu."
    Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
    Location: The Purple Zone
    Posts: 5941
    You open stage.tbl. Doesn't it say that in the OP?