Booster's Lab - It's Pretty Good Now

Old topic!
The last post in this thread is over 60 days old. Posting in this thread will be considered a bump, so please make an attempt to be courteous if you go ahead with it.

If the last post is over 6 months old, it may instead be a better idea to start a new topic. If you aren't sure about what to do, feel free to ask a staff member for help, or try to locate a 'general questions'-type thread if it exists in this (sub-)forum.
Feb 17, 2019 at 11:23 AM
Serri Online
Big Floppa
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2482
Age: 25
Can also just go back to the original music (and maybe sound) lists from CE? No offense to whoever made the new ones for BL, but there shouldn't be a reason why the fanfares and game over theme should be shown nameless if they weren't broken on Wistil's lists.
 
Feb 17, 2019 at 11:42 AM
Part-Time Perfectionist
CS Beta Content Discord Admin
"Bleep, Bloop, Bleep, Bloop"
Join Date: Dec 26, 2014
Location: the back of their own hand.
Posts: 1599
Age: 120
Can also just go back to the original music (and maybe sound) lists from CE? No offense to whoever made the new ones for BL, but there shouldn't be a reason why the fanfares and game over theme should be shown nameless if they weren't broken on Wistil's lists.
I made the new sound lists.
I also made Dixon new music lists that he never used.

It's very easy to edit them if you want something different. It's just a simple text file.
 

Attachments

Feb 20, 2019 at 11:21 PM
Working on too many mods at a time.
Modding Community Discord Admin
"Deaths: 4000"
Join Date: Apr 23, 2013
Location: Purgatory
Posts: 989
Age: 22
Can also just go back to the original music (and maybe sound) lists from CE? No offense to whoever made the new ones for BL, but there shouldn't be a reason why the fanfares and game over theme should be shown nameless if they weren't broken on Wistil's lists.
I made the new sound lists.
I also made Dixon new music lists that he never used.

It's very easy to edit them if you want something different. It's just a simple text file.
I believe this was all already fixed awhile ago on the github. I know it ain't much but we should probably wrap up a 5.1 release with all the quality of life stuff that was already done by leo and such.
 
Mar 1, 2019 at 9:16 AM
Serri Online
Big Floppa
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2482
Age: 25
Hey, so I found an issue that was previously mentioned (though specifics weren't really given), but is never fixed, while trying to look at the stage.tbl file for CS+.

Ignore the window style, I'm still using Windows 7.
Basically, its stage.tbl loader is broken, it's been almost a year and this issue wasn't properly addressed or fixed!
 
Mar 1, 2019 at 10:31 AM
Serri Online
Big Floppa
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2482
Age: 25
I've used Leo's version, but some other stuff got broken (like the guides unable to load at all and it doesn't allow deletion for all rooms in the game), so i switched back to v500 because of it
 
Mar 2, 2019 at 4:52 AM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 6000
well I put together a release of the latest changes on github
you can download it here: https://github.com/taedixon/boosters-lab/releases/tag/0.5.1.0

I also took the time to add "create entity" to the right-click menu of the NPC window.
I hope this works ok lmao
I'll update the OP once someone can confirm the builds aren't completely trash

it's a bit sad that it got so tedious to work on but i s2g it takes me half an hour just to put together a release, there's no tests that let me know if i broke something crucial, and so much of it is very old and clunky code to me now. I hope that at least this can serve as a useful tool for the community in its current state. maybe one day somebody will take the mantle and make a new editor that learns from all our mistakes... the cycle continues
 
Last edited:
Mar 16, 2019 at 4:41 AM
Serri Online
Big Floppa
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2482
Age: 25
Yeah yeah, I'll go and teach myself Java so I can fix it myself, I'm just pissed off at this error existing whenever I open up a guide...
 
Mar 16, 2019 at 3:19 PM
In my body, in my head
Forum Moderator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
Location: The Purple Zone
Posts: 6000
That's a pretty strange issue and I can't actually reproduce it at all. As far as I know this has always just kind of "worked fine" on both windows and linux
 
Mar 18, 2019 at 7:17 AM
Part-Time Perfectionist
CS Beta Content Discord Admin
"Bleep, Bloop, Bleep, Bloop"
Join Date: Dec 26, 2014
Location: the back of their own hand.
Posts: 1599
Age: 120
That's a pretty strange issue and I can't actually reproduce it at all. As far as I know this has always just kind of "worked fine" on both windows and linux
Maybe Windows XP has an abusive relationship with double forward-slashes?
 
Mar 18, 2019 at 8:07 AM
Serri Online
Big Floppa
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2482
Age: 25
Maybe Windows XP has an abusive relationship with double forward-slashes?
I use Windows 7, actually. I just happened to have a custom XP skin over everything
 
Mar 18, 2019 at 8:22 AM
Part-Time Perfectionist
CS Beta Content Discord Admin
"Bleep, Bloop, Bleep, Bloop"
Join Date: Dec 26, 2014
Location: the back of their own hand.
Posts: 1599
Age: 120
I use Windows 7, actually. I just happened to have a custom XP skin over everything
:mad:

Just the forward-slashes thing then.
 
Sep 20, 2019 at 10:26 AM
Serri Online
Big Floppa
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2482
Age: 25
Okay, so I apologize for the bump, but I seriously thought this issue was fixed previously, because some Leo40Story decided to fuck up Booster's Lab and deleting all vanilla maps would cause this issue.

And this would just break the executable far more than Sue's Workshop ever would.

Considering their recent inactivity, there's a very likely chance that neither Leo or Noxid will bother to fix this issue, and I've given v510 such a huge chance, but there are more issues this version has been giving me than fixing compared to v500. And tbh, I feel that v500 should be the version people should be using (except for Mint, cuz she's full on committed to the broken double click feature prior to v450). You're not gonna lose anything important by taking a step back anyway ("Export Stage.tbl" will work just fine for mods made in CSE2E anyway, so).

Edit: In the meantime, I guess I have to work on my mod all over again from scratch, since Olly won't open up the severely corrupted exe file, so this will be fun trying to scoop it out with HxD!
 
Last edited:
Sep 21, 2019 at 7:53 AM
Part-Time Perfectionist
CS Beta Content Discord Admin
"Bleep, Bloop, Bleep, Bloop"
Join Date: Dec 26, 2014
Location: the back of their own hand.
Posts: 1599
Age: 120
Okay, so I apologize for the bump, but I seriously thought this issue was fixed previously, because some Leo40Story decided to fuck up Booster's Lab and deleting all vanilla maps would cause this issue.

And this would just break the executable far more than Sue's Workshop ever would.

Considering their recent inactivity, there's a very likely chance that neither Leo or Noxid will bother to fix this issue, and I've given v510 such a huge chance, but there are more issues this version has been giving me than fixing compared to v500. And tbh, I feel that v500 should be the version people should be using (except for Mint, cuz she's full on committed to the broken double click feature prior to v450). You're not gonna lose anything important by taking a step back anyway ("Export Stage.tbl" will work just fine for mods made in CSE2E anyway, so).

Edit: In the meantime, I guess I have to work on my mod all over again from scratch, since Olly won't open up the severely corrupted exe file, so this will be fun trying to scoop it out with HxD!
Leo's still alive. The version of post-v500 that I have (still labelled v500) works fine for whatever as far as I know, so I could try giving you a copy of that if you'd like...
 
Sep 21, 2019 at 8:03 AM
Deliverer of Sweets
Bobomb says: "I need a hug!"
Join Date: Jul 20, 2015
Location: Under sea level or something
Posts: 752
Age: 22
I've been using 0.5.1.1 and the only issue I have is that it doesn't properly detect doubleclicks which I guess is kind of an issue but it could just be Java being bad.
 
Sep 21, 2019 at 8:25 AM
Serri Online
Big Floppa
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2482
Age: 25
Leo's still alive. The version of post-v500 that I have (still labelled v500) works fine for whatever as far as I know, so I could try giving you a copy of that if you'd like...
I can try it out, yes. Though tbh, even if that does work out for me, that setback is probably not gonna let me be able to enter something for Modcon. :(
 
Sep 22, 2019 at 4:08 AM
Part-Time Perfectionist
CS Beta Content Discord Admin
"Bleep, Bloop, Bleep, Bloop"
Join Date: Dec 26, 2014
Location: the back of their own hand.
Posts: 1599
Age: 120
I can try it out, yes. Though tbh, even if that does work out for me, that setback is probably not gonna let me be able to enter something for Modcon. :(
Ah well, you should just be reprogramming CSE2 because this year's modcon is going to be a programming contest not a modding contest anyway.
 
Sep 22, 2019 at 4:31 AM
Serri Online
Big Floppa
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: Jun 27, 2013
Location:
Posts: 2482
Age: 25
Ah well, you should just be reprogramming CSE2 because this year's modcon is going to be a programming contest not a modding contest anyway.
It took me a whole 5 years to sorta learn ASM, I do not wanna learn C for the sake of a contest. And Bionicobot is gonna be the only entrant anyway.
 
Feb 23, 2020 at 5:36 PM
Novice Member
"Officially Worth 1 Rupee"
Join Date: Feb 23, 2020
Location:
Posts: 1
Has anyone ever released Booster's Lab projects with just the layout's of normal cave story rooms? Fine if they didn't, just curious before I do some stuff. Not sure the best way to see the layouts of normal Cave Story rooms either.
 
Last edited:
Top