Booster's Lab - It's Pretty Good Now

Discussion in 'Modding Discussion' started by Noxid, Jan 15, 2012.

Old topic!
The last post in this thread is over 60 days old. Posting in this thread will be considered a bump, so please make an attempt to be courteous if you go ahead with it.

If the last post is over 6 months old, it may instead be a better idea to start a new topic. If you aren't sure about what to do, feel free to ask a staff member for help, or try to locate a 'general questions'-type thread if it exists in this (sub-)forum.
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    Noxid
    Noxid Online
    In my body, in my head
    "Life begins and ends with Nu."
    Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
    Location: The Purple Zone
    Posts: 5941
    There is a colour picker for the background of the tileset. The default is dark grey but I changed it once during testing and never bothered to switch it back.
    The grey highlighting is supposed to indicate when your text will go "over the limit" i.e. if it's grey then your line is too long. However Nicalis' scripts are all different and don't use a fixed-width font so I am not sure how to figure that.
     
  2. Mar 12, 2012
    Noxid
    Noxid Online
    In my body, in my head
    "Life begins and ends with Nu."
    Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
    Location: The Purple Zone
    Posts: 5941
    [​IMG]

    Needs More Tutorials

    New version up


    not that anybody

    caaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeessssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss sss s.....
     
  3. Mar 12, 2012
    Captain Fabulous
    when the everything hits just right
    "Life begins and ends with Nu."
    Join Date: Apr 19, 2009
    Location: when the meme ages just right
    Posts: 3788
    Age: 14
    ಠ_ಠ
    If you want us to be your alpha testers, just say so.
     
  4. Mar 12, 2012
    Noxid
    Noxid Online
    In my body, in my head
    "Life begins and ends with Nu."
    Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
    Location: The Purple Zone
    Posts: 5941
    It's still too early to perform comprehensive testing because there's simply too much that isn't done yet
    What I need is feedback about the design and user interface so I know what's a problem before it becomes a problem, and before I am too deep to be fiddling with high-level elements like buttons and windows.
    As it is now I'm just making the editor the way I like it which may or may not be reflective of other people's expectations
     
  5. Mar 12, 2012
    andwhyisit
    Administrator
    "Life begins and ends with Nu."
    Join Date: Jul 15, 2007
    Location: Australia
    Posts: 6140
    Age: 32
    Sorry. I lurk too much these days. *shakes head*
     
  6. Mar 17, 2012
    Cookie160
    Junior Member
    "Fresh from the Bakery"
    Join Date: Oct 22, 2011
    Location: The Milky Way
    Posts: 18
    Age: 18
    Just a question, does anybody know why every window thats not the main window is completely black?
    If ANYbody knows what I'm doing wrong please let me know.
     
  7. Mar 17, 2012
    duncathan
    Been here way too long...
    "Life begins and ends with Nu."
    Join Date: Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    Posts: 2329
    Age: 18
    The problem is you are using a Mac. At least tell them that.
     
  8. Mar 17, 2012
    Noxid
    Noxid Online
    In my body, in my head
    "Life begins and ends with Nu."
    Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
    Location: The Purple Zone
    Posts: 5941
    What dunc said.
    I don't own a mac so I can't really test what happens on one. If your java is out of date, make sure it's updated. Other than that there isn't much I can do about it.

    p.s. I hope you aren't trying to run this under WINE because that would be stupid since macs support java too
     
  9. Mar 18, 2012
    Cookie160
    Junior Member
    "Fresh from the Bakery"
    Join Date: Oct 22, 2011
    Location: The Milky Way
    Posts: 18
    Age: 18
    Dunc, once again, I'm using Windows XP
     
  10. Mar 18, 2012
    duncathan
    Been here way too long...
    "Life begins and ends with Nu."
    Join Date: Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    Posts: 2329
    Age: 18
    ...
    But you're using parallel desktops.
    On a Mac.
    Emulation is not use.
     
  11. Mar 18, 2012
    ShinyElectricBlueTiger
    Offensive User
    "Big Joe Tire and Battery Restaurant! Opening Soon! Eat at Big Joes!"
    Join Date: Sep 7, 2011
    Location: IT'S TIME FOR A SHAQDOWN
    Posts: 541
    Are you using Windows XP on a Windows machine or are you virtualizing Windows XP something like a Mac?
    Becaus this is pretty much sounding like the bug you had with WTF Story on the same machine.
    Also, if you actually are using a mac to virtualize an executable .jar in a windows environment even though Macs themselves support java than I just have nothing to say to you.
     
  12. Mar 29, 2012
    FlyingCritter30
    Junior Member
    "It's dangerous to go alone!"
    Join Date: Mar 29, 2012
    Location:
    Posts: 36
    When I tried to choose a map to edit, nothing seemed to show up. IIRC, I do have the latest update of Java and Cave Story downloaded. Do I need CS+ or something?
     
  13. Mar 29, 2012
    Noxid
    Noxid Online
    In my body, in my head
    "Life begins and ends with Nu."
    Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
    Location: The Purple Zone
    Posts: 5941
    It should work on both CS+ and normal CS. If you're familiar enough with command prompt to navigate to the appropriate directory and run it with "java -jar BoosterLab_0031.jar" then it should spew out error messages for you to tell me
    Otherwise well.. I guess something would be either missing or corrupt. Or I broke the program again.
     
  14. Mar 30, 2012
    FlyingCritter30
    Junior Member
    "It's dangerous to go alone!"
    Join Date: Mar 29, 2012
    Location:
    Posts: 36
    Ah. It's working now. Thanks Noxid. :) I'm looking forward to the completion of this modding tool.
     
  15. Mar 30, 2012
    duncathan
    Been here way too long...
    "Life begins and ends with Nu."
    Join Date: Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    Posts: 2329
    Age: 18
    Wait, uhh...
    How did that fix it?
    That wasn't the intended outcome of that, even if it did something good.
     
  16. Mar 30, 2012
    Slither
    Slither Online
    Professional Whatever
    "Life begins and ends with Nu."
    Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
    Location: Lasagna
    Posts: 4491
    I think he meant that he got it to work by other means, not by going through command prompt.
     
  17. Mar 30, 2012
    FlyingCritter30
    Junior Member
    "It's dangerous to go alone!"
    Join Date: Mar 29, 2012
    Location:
    Posts: 36
    I actually think the problem I had was simple; it wasn't in my Cave Story folder.

    ...

    Well, at least that's what THINK it was. It started working once I moved it to the CS folder.
     
  18. Mar 30, 2012
    Slither
    Slither Online
    Professional Whatever
    "Life begins and ends with Nu."
    Join Date: Jan 13, 2011
    Location: Lasagna
    Posts: 4491
    Nope, that's not it. I use CS and BL from different folders for organization - I don't want to have a copy for every single one of my mods - and they both work fine for me.
     
  19. Mar 30, 2012
    Noxid
    Noxid Online
    In my body, in my head
    "Life begins and ends with Nu."
    Join Date: Aug 28, 2009
    Location: The Purple Zone
    Posts: 5941
    He probably had cave story in his program files or something equally silly
     
  20. Mar 30, 2012
    duncathan
    Been here way too long...
    "Life begins and ends with Nu."
    Join Date: Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    Posts: 2329
    Age: 18
    Well it wouldn't be his fault if he had used Cave Story Deluxe, because it installs in Porgram Files.