Jump to content


Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Cave Story+ Linux/Windows - incompatible saves?


Old topic!
Guest, the last post in this thread is over 60 days old. Posting in this thread will be considered a bump, so please make an attempt to be courteous if you go ahead with it.

If the last post is over 6 months old, it may instead be a better idea to start a new topic. If you aren't sure about what to do, feel free to ask a staff member for help, or try to locate a 'general questions'-type thread if it exists in this (sub-)forum.


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 25 December 2011 - 10:41 AM

Theon144 Offline
Novice Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: 18 Dec 2011
Location:
Posts: 2
 

I use Linux at home, but I happened to be on a Windows machine when I started playing Cave Story+, I played for some time, then I backed up the whole folder on my thumb drive, and copied the profile.dat file into the Cave Story folder on my Linux computer, but then it says the save file is corrupt - so I also copied the rest of the folder (i.e. the data folder), but it still says the save file is corrupt. How can I fix this? Are the versions incompatible?

#2 25 December 2011 - 12:36 PM

Noxid Offline
3cool
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: 28 Aug 2009
Location: LocationShredding a wicked grind
Posts: 4,548
 

It depends, is linux little-endian like mac? If so then maybe.
kss-button.png azarashi-button.png mahinbuttongif2.gif balbal-button.png
SMsELPL.gif
sperg on brothers

#3 26 December 2011 - 12:27 AM

andwhyisit Offline
Administrator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: 15 Jul 2007
Location: LocationAustralia
Posts: 5,141
Age: 28
 

Can you give me a linux save to mess around with? The later on in the game you have it the better. Also please make sure that you save in a map that has background music and that you have at least two slots saved to (no conditions for the second save).

Posted Image

Spoiler

 


#4 27 December 2011 - 10:10 AM

Theon144 Offline
Novice Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: 18 Dec 2011
Location:
Posts: 2
 

It depends, is linux little-endian like mac? If so then maybe.


I'm not sure, I think it depends on the kernel/architecture. Anyway, that should be easily fixed by reversing the bit order, right?

Can you give me a linux save to mess around with? The later on in the game you have it the better. Also please make sure that you save in a map that has background music and that you have at least two slots saved to (no conditions for the second save).


Sorry, the save that I spent few hours on is the windows one, so the Linux one is almost at the very beginning - though I guess I could give it to you, why does it need to be later in the game?

#5 27 December 2011 - 11:01 AM

Regular Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: 07 Dec 2011
Location: LocationAustralia. In Bob Katter's secret techno-dungeon.
Posts: 206
Age: 22
 

Most likely, he wants more flags set, for reference.

#6 27 December 2011 - 11:46 AM

andwhyisit Offline
Administrator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: 15 Jul 2007
Location: LocationAustralia
Posts: 5,141
Age: 28
 

@Ambient_Malice: Items, weapons, teleporter information, equip information, xp, whimsical star info, etc. None of these appear in a new save. Flags on the other hand are saved the same on all systems regardless of byte ordering.

@Theon144: If you can get as far as activating the teleporter in Arthur's house and saving in a room that has music in it then I can work with it. No guarantees that I'll be able to get to it before I go away to the beach for a few days but I'll see what I can do. Also, please send me the windows save you want to convert as well.

Posted Image

Spoiler

 


#7 27 December 2011 - 12:03 PM

Regular Member
"Huzzah!"
Join Date: 07 Dec 2011
Location: LocationAustralia. In Bob Katter's secret techno-dungeon.
Posts: 206
Age: 22
 

My mistake. My definition of 'flag' was a bit off. Thanks for setting me straight.

#8 31 December 2011 - 02:45 AM

Maxim Offline
Novice Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: 31 Dec 2011
Location:
Posts: 9
 

I'm interested in this as well. More curiosity than anything else. I attempted to do the same thing when I first started playing it.

When the game loads with the Windows game save, it concludes that the game save is "corrupt" and can only be deleted, or continue the game without being able to save.

In the console it returns this error message:
Save File: Wrong size! (131104 != 130452)

It's obvious that the files are different lengths but to my layman eyes they appear to begin the same. I attempted to truncate the Windows game save with dd, but the game didn't save any of the configs (controls), or any of the game saves (all of the slots were "New"). So it appears to me something out of my scope and not just a file size issue.

I'll try and get a game going with the requested depth into the game this weekend.

Ok. I've played the game to the point where it was requested of the other user above.

I've uploaded the game saves here.

I've included Windows and Linux versions. Each of the save slots is used, with each to the same point, with the same life, and items, and each in the same room. They should be all very very close to the same.

#9 18 January 2012 - 02:35 PM

Maxim Offline
Novice Member
"Fresh from the Bakery"
Join Date: 31 Dec 2011
Location:
Posts: 9
 

Is there something that I can do having no significant experience with hex editing?

I found a converter script which probably does what needs to be done but is only applicable for Mac save files and doesn't appear to work properly with Cave Story + saves.

http://www.cavestory...save-converter/

Also I think it requires a plist file to exist before editing the save, so I don't have that in order to be able to use it.

If it does work properly I could probably cut out the save file section using dd, and save it as a file. I'd just have to figure a way to implant it back in to convert it back to a Windows save. At that point I could go back and forth pretty easily.

#10 27 January 2012 - 12:19 PM

andwhyisit Offline
Administrator
"Life begins and ends with Nu."
Join Date: 15 Jul 2007
Location: LocationAustralia
Posts: 5,141
Age: 28
 

Alright, I've figured it out, pass me the file you want converted. Sorry for the delay btw.

Edited by andwhyisit, 27 January 2012 - 12:20 PM.

Posted Image

Spoiler

 




Old topic!
Guest, the last post in this thread is over 60 days old. Posting in this thread will be considered a bump, so please make an attempt to be courteous if you go ahead with it.

If the last post is over 6 months old, it may instead be a better idea to start a new topic. If you aren't sure about what to do, feel free to ask a staff member for help, or try to locate a 'general questions'-type thread if it exists in this (sub-)forum.



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users