Earlier this morning Mirai Gamer Forums was hacked and the index page was reset to show the hacker's signature. Someone who called himself "Red Devil".
Not sure if it was just someone who wanted to see if they could hack the forum, or if it was someone who intends to do it again. In any case, things are at least for the moment back to normal again, but it is advised at least for the time being to backup anything you may consider current, recently posted or important in case this sort of event happens again.
MG Forums operates on a vBulletin forum which are supposed to be one of the securest forums on the web, but even vBs can be hacked apparently if someone wants badly enough to do it.
Fortunately the database appears to be unaffected, so after a fresh reinstall of the newest version of the vB software, here we are again.
-Thomas
MG Hacked
Started by SkyeWelse, Apr 13 2009 04:29 PM
- Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic
#1
13 April 2009 - 04:29 PM
Offline
Visitor From the Past...
![]() | "..." |
Join Date: 15 Jun 2004
Location:
LocationGeorgia
Posts: 364
Age: 32
#2
13 April 2009 - 06:07 PM
Offline
The Town Bicycle *cough*
![]() | "Keep on rollin'!" |
Join Date: 09 Apr 2009
Location:
LocationIn your memories... forever...
Posts: 433
yes i noticed. and no it wasnt me.
#3
13 April 2009 - 10:02 PM
Offline
Scatter-brained
![]() | "The Ultimate Sword of Extraordinary Magnitude" |
Join Date: 11 Oct 2006
Location:
LocationOman
Posts: 280
Age: 27
Maybe the spammer "tuvw685".
Khan Academy (Math): http://www.khanacademy.org/
IT Exams: http://www.proprofs....ams/index.shtml
Classic IQ Test: http://www.testq.com...eer/quizzes/121
Laptops' reviews: http://www.notebookcheck.net/
Find the latest versions of the most wanted programs for Windows: http://www.filehippo.com/
IT Exams: http://www.proprofs....ams/index.shtml
Classic IQ Test: http://www.testq.com...eer/quizzes/121
Laptops' reviews: http://www.notebookcheck.net/
Find the latest versions of the most wanted programs for Windows: http://www.filehippo.com/
#4
14 April 2009 - 12:43 AM
Offline
Been here way too long...
![]() | "Ha! Ha! Ha! Mega Man is no match for my Mimiga Man!" |
Join Date: 09 Nov 2008
Location:
LocationChina
Posts: 249
some kids wanna to be cool..
well at least seems cool.
well at least seems cool.
#5
14 April 2009 - 02:24 AM
Offline
It doesn't matter
![]() | "Life begins and ends with Nu." |
Join Date: 20 Aug 2006
Location:
LocationCaught between interests
Posts: 2,196
Age: 22
Useful link. Looks like it was only a HTML hack. Another forum said it's just an automatic program that searching for holes in the site's scripting, nothing really to worry about.
I'm an admin
Quickie Mod Guide [Update List]
Quickie Mod Guide [Update List]
Soon Google will purchase Twitter and Facebook, and combine them with YouTube to form the ultimate social networking site: YouTwitFace
#6
14 April 2009 - 03:17 AM
Offline
The Town Bicycle *cough*
![]() | "Keep on rollin'!" |
Join Date: 09 Apr 2009
Location:
LocationIn your memories... forever...
Posts: 433
so the site tried to hack itself? highly unlikely.
#7
14 April 2009 - 03:29 AM
Offline
Visitor From the Past...
![]() | "..." |
Join Date: 15 Jun 2004
Location:
LocationGeorgia
Posts: 364
Age: 32
Wow Double Think! Nice find! That explains a few things. Well, at least that puts my mind at rest that it may just be a "drive-by" hacking job or a possible automated script bot. It sure beats the alternative of some malicious user that has it out for the MG community. : )
I appreciate the link!
-Thomas
Edit: Oh yeah, and it seems that I lost the pretty small banner pictures that were listed on each of the various forum categories. I can't remember exactly how I set that up, but I'll get around to fixing that one of these days.
I appreciate the link!
-Thomas
Edit: Oh yeah, and it seems that I lost the pretty small banner pictures that were listed on each of the various forum categories. I can't remember exactly how I set that up, but I'll get around to fixing that one of these days.


"There are a thousand hacking at the branches of evil to one that is striking at the root." - Henry David Thoreau
-Sona Mi Areru Ec Sancitu?
#8
19 April 2009 - 05:08 PM
How sure are you that no Table of the Database got backuped / ripped?
is not very helpfull.Fortunately the database appears to be unaffected
#9
20 April 2009 - 03:22 AM
Offline
Visitor From the Past...
![]() | "..." |
Join Date: 15 Jun 2004
Location:
LocationGeorgia
Posts: 364
Age: 32
Well in order to gain access to the database he would need to have known where the database is, what the database name is and what the password is in order to dump a table from it. If he had that much access what would have prevented him from changing the database password? I think this was more of a vB exploit that he must have used in order to insert code which would affect the html page.
However, with that being said I am not an expert on databases, so if there was a way for him to dump a table with the hack, then I'd have no way of knowing if he backed it or made a copy of something. If I knew that, I'd probably have to be a hacker myself. But I'm not.
-Thomas
However, with that being said I am not an expert on databases, so if there was a way for him to dump a table with the hack, then I'd have no way of knowing if he backed it or made a copy of something. If I knew that, I'd probably have to be a hacker myself. But I'm not.
-Thomas


"There are a thousand hacking at the branches of evil to one that is striking at the root." - Henry David Thoreau
-Sona Mi Areru Ec Sancitu?
#10
26 April 2009 - 05:04 AM
Offline
The Town Bicycle *cough*
![]() | "Keep on rollin'!" |
Join Date: 09 Apr 2009
Location:
LocationIn your memories... forever...
Posts: 433
HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAX!!!!!!!
0 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users
















